Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: How to generate cue sheets for my FLAC collection? (Read 32519 times) previous topic - next topic

How to generate cue sheets for my FLAC collection?

Hi all,

I just finished ripping my 400 CD collection into flac files. While I am technically inclined (a programmer), I am new to this whole area of digital audio. I thought I was doing great using a lossless format like flac, thinking that I could now re-generate my CDs if they ever became lost or scratched. However I had a 'DOH' moment when I suddenly realized that I don't really have everything... there is the information about gaps between tracks. Obviously many concert albums have no gap between tracks, and it would suck to have a default 2 second gap between every track. I'd like to be able to preserve this information if possible, so that I can regenerate the CD down the line if I lose the original.

I've just gone through a fairly major few days of ripping, and don't want to do all that again! I use Debian linux (Sound Juicer was used to do the ripping to flac). I have done some research that indicates what I might need is a "cue sheet" or "toc" file. Not sure what the difference is, and while cdparanoia -Q seems to quickly read the cuesheet, I can't seem to find any way to get that information into the appropriate file format for archiving, without reading the whole CD again (which would take forever).

I assume what I want to end up with is a directory for each album with the FLAC files (which I already have), along with a small cuesheet or toc file that can be used to burn the CD again.