IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Bug: WMA Track Numbers Are Added To By 1 in 0.9.5.1
ff.eternal
post Mar 11 2008, 16:45
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 10-March 08
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 51923



Don't know if this bug has already been experienced/reported but when using 0.9.5.1 I'm finding my track numbers for WMA files are being added to by 1. Is there any quick fix or solution to this problem? Am I doing something wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.

Can anybody help? I've had no response yet.

This post has been edited by ff.eternal: Mar 11 2008, 21:55


--------------------
foobar2000 0.9.5.1 user
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Mar 12 2008, 03:05
Post #2





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



It might be helpful if you wrote what exactly were you trying to do, what did you expect and what behavior occured instead - e.g. "I have an untagged WMA file, I set its Track number to 6 in the Properties dialog, click OK and it shows up as 7".


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ff.eternal
post Mar 12 2008, 10:18
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 10-March 08
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 51923



Ok, I add WMA files to library and they automatically get the Track Number increased by 1. No editing whatsoever.


--------------------
foobar2000 0.9.5.1 user
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shoe
post Apr 8 2008, 19:24
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-April 08
Member No.: 52523



I have this issue with WMA tracks using 9.5.1. It affects some of the tracks and not others, but I dont know why. Here are two sample files:

[removed]

This post has been edited by shoe: Apr 8 2008, 21:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DotNoir
post Apr 8 2008, 21:38
Post #5





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 250
Joined: 10-April 03
From: Tampere, Finland
Member No.: 5911



First of all, I'd get those files offline ASAP if I were you, at least remove the links, since they are violating the TOS of hydrogenaudio.org (they are copyrighted material, and as far as I know, you don't own the copyright to Blue Öyster Cult). Second, there is no bug in foobar2000, or then there is one in Windows Media Player as well.

It seems that teh tag in them has a tracknumber of 10. It doesn't matter what the filename is if you've tagged them wrongly.



QUOTE (shoe @ Apr 8 2008, 21:24) *
I have this issue with WMA tracks using 9.5.1. It affects some of the tracks and not others, but I dont know why. Here are two sample files:

Track 9 (off by 1).wma (5.27 MB)

Track 10 (correct).wma (5.98 MB)


This post has been edited by DotNoir: Apr 8 2008, 21:39


--------------------
Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shoe
post Apr 8 2008, 22:10
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-April 08
Member No.: 52523



QUOTE (DotNoir @ Apr 8 2008, 12:38) *
First of all, I'd get those files offline ASAP if I were you, at least remove the links, since they are violating the TOS of hydrogenaudio.org (they are copyrighted material, and as far as I know, you don't own the copyright to Blue Öyster Cult).
Gone.
QUOTE
Second, there is no bug in foobar2000, or then there is one in Windows Media Player as well.
It seems that teh tag in them has a tracknumber of 10. It doesn't matter what the filename is if you've tagged them wrongly.
Earlier the tags matched the file names, but were displayed wrong in Foobar2000. I used Foobar2000 to add replaygain info to the tags, and it seems that while it was doing this, it changed the track number in the tags as well. So the problem with Foobar2000 is real, but I didn't realize the files I posted had been modified since I checked the tags.

I will try to find some copyright-free WMA files that will illustrate the problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
grommet
post Apr 8 2008, 23:27
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 377
Joined: 1-April 05
From: California
Member No.: 21106



I can't repro your problem. Are you generating these WMA files yourself? If not, try it... rip a real audio CD to WMA in WMP 11, for example, and see if foobar2000 is happy with the track numbers.

I can change the track numbers in Explorer shell , WMP 11 & foobar2000 9.5.1 and all applications see the changes correctly.

FYI:

WMA/ASF containers have two internal track number attributes, WM/TrackNumber (string) and the deprecated WM/Track (string or DWORD). The old "WM/Track" is 0 based, where the newer "WM/TrackNumber" is 1 based. Yes, confusing. WM/Track is only maintained for backwards compatibility. Both attributes should be Strings, but applications should be coded to be able to read WM/Track as a DWORD just in case of bad applications.

Buggy applications might store WM/Track incorrectly using a 1 base, making correctly behaving applications read the track +1.

This post has been edited by grommet: Apr 9 2008, 08:48
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shoe
post Apr 9 2008, 00:23
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-April 08
Member No.: 52523



I saw the problem with WMAs that I purchased online. I noticed the problem in foobar2k, tried re-tagging them using Tag&Rename, and I saw the same problem (not true see below). The track numbers display fine on my portable music player, so I figured the problem was in Foobar2k. I see other people have noticed it as well. I'll try ripping some files from CD and experimenting more with this issue when I get home tonight.

This post has been edited by shoe: Apr 10 2008, 00:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ilikedirtthe2nd
post Apr 9 2008, 03:03
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 470
Joined: 26-October 01
From: Germany
Member No.: 352



I've also seen this happen (+1 to tracknumer)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shoe
post Apr 10 2008, 00:16
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-April 08
Member No.: 52523



It turns out the problem does not occur with WMA files that I rip or tag myself. However, WMA files I purchased on the internet show the track number off by one in Foobar2000, but show up correctly on my Gigabeat portable player, and Tag&Rename, and Windows Media Player, and Windows XP Explorer (see pic). If I re-tag the file in Tag&Rename, then Foobar2000 shows the tag number correctly.

Here is a pic that shows the correct track number for "Just another day" is 1, but Foobar2k shows it as 2.
foobar2k wrong track num.JPG (145.75 KB)

Perhaps the files originally have some non-standard form of the tag, such as the deprecated version that grommet mentioned? Still might be nice if Foobar2000 displayed it correctly, as does Media Player, Windows Explorer, etc.

At least now I know that re-writing the tags fixes the problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 03:44