IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Windows Media Lossless Question
Wonderwall
post Nov 5 2008, 05:40
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-November 08
Member No.: 61733



Hello All,

I use WML all the time and have no problems when I make CDR's. The only thing curious is when I play a WML file on my computer and use the "slide bar" to fast forward the song, the track seems to slow down like a semi-tone or something. If I just play it normal, it's fine. Does this happen to anybody else? The time of the file is the same as the CD, it's just when I "slide" it forward, it slows down.

Again, the time of the file matches the CD perfectly, and it sounds fine (no speed variation) when I just play the file. The "slide" thing doesn't happen on MP3's though. It's strange. It's probably just a fluke. The file plays fine normally, or burning it to a CD, so I guess I shouldn't worry about it, but I don't get it. Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kornchild2002
post Nov 5 2008, 06:43
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2043
Joined: 8-April 05
From: Cincinnati, OH
Member No.: 21277



What are you using to play the files?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wonderwall
post Nov 5 2008, 06:45
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-November 08
Member No.: 61733



QUOTE (kornchild2002 @ Nov 5 2008, 00:43) *
What are you using to play the files?


WMP or Creative Media Player. The same thing happens on both.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wonderwall
post Nov 6 2008, 03:33
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-November 08
Member No.: 61733



So do you guys think this is anything to worry about?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hellokeith
post Nov 6 2008, 06:20
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 34027



I'd install/reinstall the latest WMP. I recall a Windows PC some years back that WMP got hosed and did weird things.. reinstall fixed it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Woodinville
post Nov 6 2008, 07:49
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1402
Joined: 9-January 05
From: JJ's office.
Member No.: 18957



Make sure all of the "audio processing" options are turned off, too.


--------------------
-----
J. D. (jj) Johnston
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wonderwall
post Nov 6 2008, 18:36
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-November 08
Member No.: 61733



Would that matter if the same thing happens when I play the file through the Creative Media Player?

I just want to make sure the files are not corrupted. I mean, I can't imagine that they are if the timing matches the CD timings, and they play fine. It's just the "slide" thing. Maybe I'm just having an OCD moment. tongue.gif The WMP seems to rip & burn fine. Is there a way to just check a file to make sure it's ok?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hellokeith
post Nov 6 2008, 19:39
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 34027



Play the file on another Windows PC is the only other thing I can think of that would isolate a file problem if there is a problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wonderwall
post Nov 7 2008, 02:57
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-November 08
Member No.: 61733



I know I sound a little dopey, but would I need to transfer it on to CD in order to play it on another PC? I don't have any problems once it is on CD. Sorry, I'm kind of a novice at this.

I did covert a WMA lossless file to an Itunes file and didn't have the "slide" problem. I think I'm probably being anal and this is some kind of fluke. I was just curious if anybody else experienced this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
[JAZ]
post Nov 7 2008, 22:39
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1706
Joined: 24-June 02
From: Catalunya(Spain)
Member No.: 2383



If you encoded it without DRM, yes, you can transfer the WMAL file to another pc without worries.
If you did encode with DRM, you should be able to decode it in the PC you created it, and create a new one without DRM. Burning onto CD adds an unnecessary step (having to rip it again).

The problem you are having with that file is due to the decoder. It has a fault somewhere, and the only one i could imagine right now is an error with the sampling rate. From what you said, i assume the origin of this file is a CD (44Khz). If that played erroneously at 48Khz without being resampled, it would actually sound a bit faster, not slower, but i still believe it's a problem related to that.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wonderwall
post Nov 8 2008, 19:55
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-November 08
Member No.: 61733



Maybe it is something with the decoder when I "slide" the track forward? Again, the files seem fine. The files match the CD time to the second. Perhaps when the file gets jerked forward when sliding the bar, that is the reason it slows it down. BTW, I can play the file again from the beginning and there is no problem. The "slide" doesn't permanently slow down the file or corrupt it in any way. Strange...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 07:25