IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Pleasurize Music Foundation, The most credible dynamic range advocacy group so far?
skamp
post May 30 2013, 13:21
Post #51





Group: Developer
Posts: 1343
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



TT-DR-Install.zip, mirrored on Dropbox in case the original link stops working.
Edit: and here's the manual (mirrored on Dropbox).

CODE
113ce5e87ad382672b56914388db2620  TT-DR-Install.zip
3d6b88ed053043f8604de301da4e758f  DR-Manual-V1_1-English.pdf


This post has been edited by skamp: May 30 2013, 13:26


--------------------
caudec.net
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foomark
post May 30 2013, 14:23
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 12-July 11
Member No.: 92213



QUOTE (skamp @ May 30 2013, 14:21) *
TT-DR-Install.zip, mirrored on Dropbox in case the original link stops working.
Edit: and here's the manual (mirrored on Dropbox).

CODE
113ce5e87ad382672b56914388db2620  TT-DR-Install.zip
3d6b88ed053043f8604de301da4e758f  DR-Manual-V1_1-English.pdf


Perfect! wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Stone Free
post May 31 2013, 15:40
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 24-September 04
From: London
Member No.: 17277



How do you add the realtime meter to foobar?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post May 31 2013, 15:56
Post #54





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Just as with any other plugin for foobar2000 provided as a DLL (i.e. not as an fb2k-component):
  • open the Preferences, go to Components, and drag the desired DLL from Windows Explorer into the list in foobar2000;
  • or click Install, navigate to the relevant directory, enter the filename as *.dll, and select the desired plugin.


Edit: Sorry, I had not realised it was a VST.

This post has been edited by db1989: May 31 2013, 21:05
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Hotsoup
post May 31 2013, 17:52
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 16-March 12
From: Bellingham, WA
Member No.: 97852



QUOTE (Stone Free @ May 31 2013, 07:40) *
How do you add the realtime meter to foobar?
I'm having a time of that too.. Only way I could get that to work was by installing a foobar VST plugin, dropping the "...Algorithmix\TT-Dynamic-Range 1.1\DR-Meter" folder into it, then finding it and applying it through the DSP chain. And then I only could see it if I opened up the DSP chain and hit "Configure Selected". I have to be doing it wrong.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foomark
post May 31 2013, 18:49
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 12-July 11
Member No.: 92213



QUOTE (Hotsoup @ May 31 2013, 18:52) *
QUOTE (Stone Free @ May 31 2013, 07:40) *
How do you add the realtime meter to foobar?
I'm having a time of that too.. Only way I could get that to work was by installing a foobar VST plugin, dropping the "...Algorithmix\TT-Dynamic-Range 1.1\DR-Meter" folder into it, then finding it and applying it through the DSP chain. And then I only could see it if I opened up the DSP chain and hit "Configure Selected". I have to be doing it wrong.


No, you're right...
it's a VST plugin so it needs to be installed like all the other VST, and marked ad "available dsp" in the dsp chain.
One time you've setted it like this you can also reach it within the foobar mený -> View ->DSP -> TT-DR-Meter. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Hotsoup
post May 31 2013, 19:43
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 16-March 12
From: Bellingham, WA
Member No.: 97852



QUOTE (foomark @ May 31 2013, 10:49) *
it's a VST plugin so it needs to be installed like all the other VST, and marked ad "available dsp" in the dsp chain.
One time you've setted it like this you can also reach it within the foobar mený -> View ->DSP -> TT-DR-Meter. smile.gif
OK, I had zero experience with VST's in foobar, so I felt like I was fumbling it up. Nice to know I can bring it up through the view menu too, thank you!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foomark
post Jun 1 2013, 09:00
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 12-July 11
Member No.: 92213



QUOTE (Hotsoup @ May 31 2013, 20:43) *
QUOTE (foomark @ May 31 2013, 10:49) *
it's a VST plugin so it needs to be installed like all the other VST, and marked ad "available dsp" in the dsp chain.
One time you've setted it like this you can also reach it within the foobar mený -> View ->DSP -> TT-DR-Meter. smile.gif
OK, I had zero experience with VST's in foobar, so I felt like I was fumbling it up. Nice to know I can bring it up through the view menu too, thank you!

You're welcome! smile.gif

One thing i don't understand about this plugin is the behaviour of the peak meter...
I mean...does when i get a "OVER" value in the peak meter means that i'm experience some clipping??
I get "over" also in quite good registration sometimes... huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hlloyge
post Jun 4 2013, 14:21
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 689
Joined: 10-January 06
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 27018



Well, for me the DSP shows peaks one second in advance, for some reason - I guess id gets the data before it's sent to decoder...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Robertina
post Jun 4 2013, 19:53
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 1212
Joined: 4-January 09
Member No.: 65169



QUOTE (hlloyge @ Jun 4 2013, 02:21) *
for me the DSP shows peaks one second in advance,

It's probably a latency issue.

Adjusting foobar2000's buffer length (Preferences > Playback > Output) may help.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foomark
post Jun 6 2013, 19:50
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 12-July 11
Member No.: 92213



QUOTE (Robertina @ Jun 4 2013, 20:53) *
QUOTE (hlloyge @ Jun 4 2013, 02:21) *
for me the DSP shows peaks one second in advance,

It's probably a latency issue.

Adjusting foobar2000's buffer length (Preferences > Playback > Output) may help.


Yes, i can confirm that the problem is related to buffer lenght setting.
I'd like to set it to 0 to have a better dymanic range representation with the plugin, but...are there any problem in setting it to 0 or a very low value near 0?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Robertina
post Jun 6 2013, 20:34
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 1212
Joined: 4-January 09
Member No.: 65169



QUOTE (foomark @ Jun 6 2013, 07:50) *
are there any problem in setting it to 0 or a very low value near 0?

When you move foobar2000's buffer length slider to a position that represents a value < 1000 ms you get already a hint to a possible drawback:

QUOTE
Warning: setting too low buffer length may cause some visualization effects to stop working.

Besides the possible loss of synchronous playback/visualisation, you may also run into audible dropouts, depending on your system and its workload.

You may want to read this post and the following one on how you can benefit by an increased buffer length, and you can derive from it possible disadvantages if using too low values.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foomark
post Jun 7 2013, 20:59
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 12-July 11
Member No.: 92213



QUOTE (Robertina @ Jun 6 2013, 21:34) *
QUOTE (foomark @ Jun 6 2013, 07:50) *
are there any problem in setting it to 0 or a very low value near 0?

When you move foobar2000's buffer length slider to a position that represents a value < 1000 ms you get already a hint to a possible drawback:

QUOTE
Warning: setting too low buffer length may cause some visualization effects to stop working.

Besides the possible loss of synchronous playback/visualisation, you may also run into audible dropouts, depending on your system and its workload.

You may want to read this post and the following one on how you can benefit by an increased buffer length, and you can derive from it possible disadvantages if using too low values.


Thank you for the explanation! so there's no way to have the benefits of a good amount of buffer lenght AND a syncronized real time DR meter vst...
Not a big problem though
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Robertina
post Jun 8 2013, 00:38
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 1212
Joined: 4-January 09
Member No.: 65169



QUOTE (foomark @ Jun 7 2013, 08:59) *
so there's no way to have the benefits of a good amount of buffer lenght AND a syncronized real time DR meter vst...

Possibly you will get more satisfying results by using an ASIO driver as your output device.

And Voxengo offers Latency Delay for free, an "auxiliary AU and VST plugin which allows you to compensate latency produced by any audio plug-ins".

Due to lack of time I haven't tried it up till now though, so I don't know whether or not it is compatible with foobar2000.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Aug 28 2013, 08:23
Post #65





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 953
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



Thanks for keeping that component alive, skamp. Could you change the archive so that the files are not in a subfolder? When installing this component using foobar2000 the component is put into an additional subfolder in user-components, and the component DLL won't load.

This post has been edited by Kohlrabi: Aug 28 2013, 08:24


--------------------
Audiophiles live in constant fear of jitter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skamp
post Aug 28 2013, 08:55
Post #66





Group: Developer
Posts: 1343
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



QUOTE (Kohlrabi @ Aug 28 2013, 09:23) *
Could you change the archive so that the files are not in a subfolder?


Done (URL is the same). Can you update my post with the new MD5 hash?

CODE
b6765c2a60a06d5c5780be6b9331c17d  foo_dynamic_range-1.1.1.zip
c18a6eea356e80a7397f8431fc123cc5  foo_dynamic_range.chm
65a5392ac0cb21a9bf820518bbead3ee  foo_dynamic_range.dll


Also, I think a couple more people should mirror the archive, just in case.

This post has been edited by skamp: Aug 28 2013, 08:56


--------------------
caudec.net
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skamp
post Aug 28 2013, 09:02
Post #67





Group: Developer
Posts: 1343
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



I mirrored it on Google Drive as well.

CODE
b6765c2a60a06d5c5780be6b9331c17d  foo_dynamic_range-1.1.1.zip
c18a6eea356e80a7397f8431fc123cc5  foo_dynamic_range.chm
65a5392ac0cb21a9bf820518bbead3ee  foo_dynamic_range.dll


This post has been edited by skamp: Aug 28 2013, 09:07


--------------------
caudec.net
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lameboy
post Aug 28 2013, 12:10
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 3-September 08
Member No.: 57866



Has anyone mentioned this site?
It has the standalone tools for Windows and Mac as weel as the foobar plugin available for download (links in the upper right corner)



--------------------
XLD // FLAC // LAME
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2014 - 12:50