IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
HOW TO: Rating Songs In Foobar
sti3
post Jan 22 2010, 07:31
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-October 03
Member No.: 9513



QUOTE (Ametz @ Jan 22 2010, 00:20) *
Have i understood correctly that this information is saved in the file itself so even if i move the file to another computer etc i can still se my rating (If i have the same script on that computer)

Yes you have. It's saved as a custom tag called RATING, which can be read by any other playing program that can read tags.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ametz
post Jan 22 2010, 07:35
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 18-November 09
Member No.: 75067



Perfect thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ametz: Jan 22 2010, 07:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ametz
post Jan 22 2010, 07:58
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 18-November 09
Member No.: 75067



It seems that this dosen't work that good with flac files, anyone else having problem with flac files?

This post has been edited by Ametz: Jan 22 2010, 08:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
HiRsch
post Jan 22 2010, 10:30
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 20-January 10
Member No.: 77340



QUOTE (Yirkha @ Jan 21 2010, 15:25) *
Are you on Windows XP? Try this.


cheers bro! works great! ;-)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
scrollop
post Mar 17 2010, 15:37
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 19-April 07
Member No.: 42693



Hi there,
nice tutorial.

Updating ratings for FLACs works fine (the rating can be seen in other programs, such as Tag&Rename), however, when updating an mp3 rating this is not updated when viewed in tag&rename (ie. the "real" metadata/tag).

Odd.

This post has been edited by scrollop: Mar 17 2010, 15:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bhupatib
post Mar 25 2010, 07:15
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 25-March 10
Member No.: 79304



QUOTE (scrollop @ Mar 17 2010, 20:07) *
Hi there,
nice tutorial.

Updating ratings for FLACs works fine (the rating can be seen in other programs, such as Tag&Rename), however, when updating an mp3 rating this is not updated when viewed in tag&rename (ie. the "real" metadata/tag).

Odd.

i have noticed it too. it also doesnt shows up in explorer (win7) or in wmp. wonder if this 'tag' is just foobar specific.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tedgo
post Mar 25 2010, 08:59
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 1089
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Bavaria, Germany
Member No.: 13548



Depends on where the rating info is stored in. Its a real mess with ID3...

Windows/WMP stores the rating info in a POPM (Popularimeter) Frame (besides the fact that on windows 7 all existing TXXX Frames gets messed up...).
Tag & Rename uses POPM Frame, too. It adds an additional COMM (Comment) Field with a text info (e. g. "Very Good" for Rating = 4).
foobar2000 does not. It ignores the POPM Frame completely and stores the rating info in a TXXX Frame, that is ignored by Windows/WMP (and i guess Tag & Rename too).

This post has been edited by tedgo: Mar 25 2010, 09:05
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dpr
post Mar 25 2010, 21:46
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 13-September 07
Member No.: 47006



QUOTE (tedgo @ Mar 25 2010, 01:59) *
Depends on where the rating info is stored in. Its a real mess with ID3...

Windows/WMP stores the rating info in a POPM (Popularimeter) Frame (besides the fact that on windows 7 all existing TXXX Frames gets messed up...).
Tag & Rename uses POPM Frame, too. It adds an additional COMM (Comment) Field with a text info (e. g. "Very Good" for Rating = 4).
foobar2000 does not. It ignores the POPM Frame completely and stores the rating info in a TXXX Frame, that is ignored by Windows/WMP (and i guess Tag & Rename too).


For some people, writing into the mp3 file is worrying. However, *if* foobar is going to write into the file, then I suggest that that standard tag POPM is used - see the standard at
http://id3.org/id3v2.3.0#head-2452ec9cf8b4...9e129ff67970852. There is also a play counter tag described right above. I don't understand why is necessary to do use private tag. Others at other player forums agree and are also concerned with compatibility between players. - http://getsatisfaction.com/songbird/topics...instead_of_txxx.

iTSFv will apparently copy from itunes' internal database into these tags as well - http://forums.mp3tag.de/index.php?showtopic=11095

So, sorry to arrive late to this discussion, but why not support the two standard tags? POPM and PCNT?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tedgo
post Mar 25 2010, 21:52
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 1089
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Bavaria, Germany
Member No.: 13548



foobar2000 DOES write to the file tags, but unfortunately doesn't supports ALL existing frames wink.gif.
Here's a list of ID3-frames supported by foobar2000: http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?ti...ID3_Tag_Mapping

I had also liked foobar2000 to support more frames in the past, but i turned over to AAC in the meantime biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
VyRuZ
post Mar 27 2010, 13:22
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 5-November 05
Member No.: 25586



Cool guide, mate!

Was just looking for a way to add ratings to Foobar. Makes my life so much easier! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bryter
post Mar 28 2010, 15:48
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 28-March 10
Member No.: 79397



when i enter this:
$if(%rating%,$repeat(★,%rating%)$repeat(☆,$sub(5,%rating%)),☆☆☆☆☆)

I am getting this:



It works ok with circles though. Any idea why am i getting this?



Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gapkiller
post Mar 28 2010, 15:57
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 169
Joined: 7-May 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 30526



some fonts don't support the star symbol...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Erich_2
post Mar 28 2010, 17:56
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 239
Joined: 10-September 08
Member No.: 58107



@Bryter: Use "Arial Unicode MS"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bryter
post Mar 28 2010, 19:34
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 28-March 10
Member No.: 79397



QUOTE (Erich_2 @ Mar 28 2010, 18:56) *
@Bryter: Use "Arial Unicode MS"

Yes, i already did that and it works.
Thanks smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sanaa
post Oct 15 2010, 03:49
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 15-October 10
Member No.: 84622



Hello All,

I am requesting some help: I have installed foobar since 2 weeks and still have not succeed to make the rating working blink.gif
I thought this post will solve my problem but it does not: When I want to display the rating value (%rating%), I see only ? in my rating column in the playlist. When I edit the song properties, I can see the rating is correctly set. If anybody have an idea to help, I will be greatfull.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Oct 15 2010, 09:58
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 4326
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



i'm guessing you have foo_playcount installed which uses %rating% for it's internal database. if this is the case, you'll need to use

$meta(rating)

to directly access the %rating% tags in your files.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sanaa
post Oct 15 2010, 11:26
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 15-October 10
Member No.: 84622



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Oct 15 2010, 09:58) *
i'm guessing you have foo_playcount installed which uses %rating% for it's internal database. if this is the case, you'll need to use

$meta(rating)

to directly access the %rating% tags in your files.

smile.gif Waouh, thanks a lot, that was it ! I would not have find this by myself.

One more question: What police shall be used to have nice stars like these:

The stars from arial unicode MS as propose in above posts are not nice, is it possible to set the police for one column only, I would have expect something like below, but does not work:
$repeat($set_font(@Arial Unicode MS,8,)★,$meta(rating))
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ojdo
post Oct 15 2010, 11:49
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 894
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 31980



QUOTE (sanaa @ Oct 15 2010, 12:26) *
One more question: What police shall be used to have nice stars [?]


kode54 gave the answer in this thread:
QUOTE (kode54 @ Sep 28 2008, 21:47) *
Install East Asian language support and it will substitute the correct font for those characters.


Then you should be able to keep the nice font for text, while automatically using Arial Unicode MS characters for those letters not present in the regular ones.


--------------------
http://freemusi.cc/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sanaa
post Oct 15 2010, 12:08
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 15-October 10
Member No.: 84622



QUOTE (ojdo @ Oct 15 2010, 11:49) *
QUOTE (sanaa @ Oct 15 2010, 12:26) *
One more question: What police shall be used to have nice stars [?]


kode54 gave the answer in this thread:
QUOTE (kode54 @ Sep 28 2008, 21:47) *
Install East Asian language support and it will substitute the correct font for those characters.


Then you should be able to keep the nice font for text, while automatically using Arial Unicode MS characters for those letters not present in the regular ones.

Yes I did try this one but it requests MS CDs that I do not have and I stopped after getting from the net the 3rd requested file.
I guess there must be a way to use the $set_font command to set a font for a particular field.
Also the stars from Arial Unicode MS are not so nice, the are somehow in italic, that why I was looking for the "nice stars" police.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Erich_2
post Oct 15 2010, 13:44
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 239
Joined: 10-September 08
Member No.: 58107



QUOTE
Also the stars from Arial Unicode MS are not so nice, the are somehow in italic, that why I was looking for the "nice stars" police.

Why don't you use ESPLAYLIST? And all font problems with stars are gone...
Here is the website
Here is the diskussion
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
krisdestruction
post Oct 17 2010, 06:30
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 17-October 10
Member No.: 84667



Well I got an idea. It would be great if someone could bundle this up into a component so that users don't have to do this every time they reinstall Foobar or reformat their computers.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dj kourampies
post Nov 11 2010, 02:10
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 28-June 06
From: Patras, Greece
Member No.: 32340



Is there any way for getting this to work for single file + cue sheet albums?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sh4d0wscr34m
post Nov 24 2010, 20:27
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 13-April 09
Member No.: 68925



I've got it working seemingly well but I have 2 problems:

1. I don't get how to make two SEPARATE ratings fields. I get how to make two columns but how do you make it so you can actually tag two separate rating fields? Would you make a column that checks Rating2 (example) and then make an extra set of scripts to set RATING2 to 1/2/3/4/5?
2. This works to tag once but if, for example, I hit to set rating to 3 and then to 5 it'll stay as 3. I found out this is because it tags it to the file in this instance as RATING = 3; 5, if I do this a bunch it'll tag as 3; 5; 4; 2; 1; 5; 4; etc only showing the first value in the column. This can be seen in the properties window. How do I make the scripts OVERWRITE the rating field instead of adding on?

edit:

sorry, realized I should just try #1 and that worked. then realized I was using add instead of set. problems solved!

In case anyone else would care, I rigged mine to easily use an x/10 rating system. Creating two columns, rate1 and rate2. For rate2 I took the code in the OP and changed rating to rating2. Then just do everything else the same, except for the scripts, also add for 1-5 a "set RATING2 = 0", and for 6-10 "set RATING1 = 5" and adjust the "set RATING2 = x" value. I even did something further and made it so I can use 10 stars with 8/10, 9/10, and 10/10 getting 1, 2, or 3 stars and anything 7/10 only with dots. Just do the above but add a RATING3, and when you get to 8 you leave RATING2 = 2 and use RATING3 = 1 and so on. It's fun to toy around with.

This post has been edited by sh4d0wscr34m: Nov 24 2010, 21:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cabarbagus
post Jan 9 2011, 19:16
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 9-January 11
Member No.: 87197



Hi all !

I'm a brand new foobar user (already addict !)

Just a little post to thank everyone for your helpfull information, great feature.

Thanks again,
JoŽl

This post has been edited by cabarbagus: Jan 9 2011, 19:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FumbleFinger
post Mar 3 2011, 19:07
Post #50





Group: Developer
Posts: 60
Joined: 20-September 10
From: Sussex
Member No.: 83992



In case anyone's interested...

I store my ratings in STARS, partly because there isn't likely to be such a tag in any new music I acquire, and partly because it saves having to think about whether the more 'standard' RATING field is stored in foobar's database and/or the mp3 files themselves.

Since the STARS tag doesn't even exist in tracks that I haven't rated at all, I can usefully set it to 0 for tracks that I actually DISLIKE (I prefer to keep whole albums, so I don't actually delete these tracks). I've defined my 'Favourites' autoplaylist contents as %STARS% GREATER 0, and 'Unrated' as NOT %STARS% PRESENT.

My 'All Music' autoplaylist is NOT (%stars% PRESENT AND %stars% EQUAL 0) - which is handy because if guests select music from that, I don't have to worry that they'll queue up stuff I don't want to hear.

To make it easy to spot disliked tracks in other playlists such as Library Viewer Selection, I've defined the Playlist View pattern for 'Stars' column as...

$if(%stars%, $if( $greater(%stars%,0),$repeat($char(9679),%stars%),$char(164)), $char(32))

...which on my system shows a sort of 'bullet hole thru glass' character for the rubbish I've shot down.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 20:03