IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Modify tags during conversion
odyssey
post Jun 19 2009, 08:29
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



I have an idea for an improvement in the converter-options: Modify tags during conversion.

That would be cool if you want to do any specific changes in the tags of converted files. It could be used if you wanna mark tracks as "Converted from FLAC" or maybe you only want a subset of fields kept in the converted files.

What do you think?


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post Mar 4 2010, 10:10
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



I found your post searching the forum to see if there's some way to add or to modify a tag/field during conversion. In my case I would like to include the q value (FLAC, Nero AAC) in a custom field when doing a batch conversion. It doesn't necessary have to be an automatic detection of q setting, manually seting of a tag with its value in a Converter Preset will do also.

There's really no way of doing so?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Mar 4 2010, 12:30
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4330
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



there is a checkbox you can enable which leaves a window open at the end with all the new files in. when it's complete, simply highlight them all, right click, properties, and add your new tag manually.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Mar 4 2010, 12:46
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



Simple, yes - Automatic, no... It would be much more useful if you could apply such setting directly in the converter preset. When I convert, I start it and forgets it. Most of the time I would forget to manually apply tags after conversion, so it's not reliable.


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post Mar 4 2010, 12:54
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



Automatic tag modification is a real time saver and no brainer when you convert a lot of albums at once (especially overnight).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Mar 4 2010, 16:03
Post #6





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



I imagine it could be something as simple as running a masstagger script.

Although, I guess it kind of becomes an issue whether you want your file name patterns based on the old tags or on the new changed tags.


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
microUgly
post Mar 15 2010, 05:29
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 8-February 09
Member No.: 66757



I'm looking for something like this. Perhaps someone might have a work around...

I keep my CD collection as FLAC files--one file per disc. With multidisc sets, both discs have the same album name. This is perfect for foobar, but not so good for my Cowon S9 which does not support disc number tags. When I convert the flac files for the S9, I would like the disc number to be included as a part of the album name, only when more than one disc exists.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smkk
post Mar 15 2010, 05:40
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 603
Joined: 18-November 07
Member No.: 48839



QUOTE (microUgly @ Mar 15 2010, 05:29) *
When I convert the flac files for the S9, I would like the disc number to be included as a part of the album name, only when more than one disc exists.

[%disc%]

?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
microUgly
post Mar 15 2010, 06:04
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 8-February 09
Member No.: 66757



QUOTE (smkk @ Mar 15 2010, 14:40) *
QUOTE (microUgly @ Mar 15 2010, 05:29) *
When I convert the flac files for the S9, I would like the disc number to be included as a part of the album name, only when more than one disc exists.

[%disc%]

?

I'm obviously not as familiar with Foobar as yourself. Where would I put that variable so the value is included the the resulting MP3's album tag?

For clarity, Foobar contains all my Flac albums, and I'm using to Foobar to then convert them to MP3 for the S9, and during the conversion process I need the disc number to be appended to the album tag.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smkk
post Mar 15 2010, 15:14
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 603
Joined: 18-November 07
Member No.: 48839



Oh so that's what you mean. It can't really be appended to the tags automatically im afraid, but to the file or folder name.
But what you can do is to batch edit the mp3s afterwards by opening the properties for all of them in foobar, right click album name > format from other fields > %album%[ %disc%].
Hope that helps.

This post has been edited by smkk: Mar 15 2010, 15:14
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
microUgly
post Mar 18 2010, 22:39
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 8-February 09
Member No.: 66757



QUOTE (smkk @ Mar 16 2010, 00:14) *
Oh so that's what you mean. It can't really be appended to the tags automatically im afraid, but to the file or folder name.
But what you can do is to batch edit the mp3s afterwards by opening the properties for all of them in foobar, right click album name > format from other fields > %album%[ %disc%].
Hope that helps.


Thanks smkk. I'm relatively new to Foobar--is there a way to put logic into the tag format? This way I can display "(disc #)" only for discs that have a value, or, in some cases I have setsubtitle that I would use instead of the disc number.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
microUgly
post Mar 18 2010, 22:42
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 8-February 09
Member No.: 66757



Nevermind, I think I've found my answer at http://brother-john.net/tagz/tagz-intro.html

%album% $if(%disc%,'('$if2(%setsubtitle%,'disc '%disc%)')')

This post has been edited by microUgly: Mar 18 2010, 23:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 08:14