IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

Beginning of track cut off about 1 sec, please help, New to Foobar
tim3320070
post Jun 25 2009, 04:48
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-April 07
Member No.: 42631



I run Vista and use Foobar2000 with WASAPI and Columns_UI. All FLAC files ripped in EAC (some older MP3's brought over as well). All tracks when clicked to play, or fowarded to the next song have an approx. 1 second lag, starting the song late, missing the start of the track- it happens to the EAC ripped music as well as the older MP3's. It does not do this in iTunes.
This is very annoying, please help!
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 12)
shakey_snake
post Jun 25 2009, 06:12
Post #2





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



This is a problem with your DAC/receiver shutting down when encountering complete digital silence.
  • One solution would be to use the skip-silence DSP, which obviously doesn't help seeking/skipping.
  • Also, some DACs that have problems with this at higher bit depths are fine with 16 bit output.
  • You could also switch to analog output for your soundcard, which might not have such problems.


This post has been edited by shakey_snake: Jun 25 2009, 06:57


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tim3320070
post Jun 26 2009, 01:25
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-April 07
Member No.: 42631



Thanks but that did not help. My setup is Vista->Foobar2K->USB->Bel Canto USB Link 2496->Audio-gd Reference-1 DAC. All take 24/96 rates and there is no issue using iTunes, only Foobar.
This is a real issue and I am considering using another player if cannot resolve.
Thanks again

This post has been edited by tim3320070: Jun 26 2009, 01:26
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jun 26 2009, 10:11
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 4502
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Have you tried other output components such as Kernel Streaming, ASIO, or WASAPI?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Jun 26 2009, 11:47
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



I'm quite sure the receiver/whatever is accounting for this issue. I have the exact same problem when I use digital connections to my H/K receiver. There can be several reasons why some players have this problem and others don't. I think soundcard drivers are part of reason why this happens. I had a Yamaha DSXG once and when used in Winamp - EVEN WITH CROSSFADER OPTION ON - it managed to create this initialisation gap on my receiver.

Other soundcards I've had, has behaved differently, mostly just doing this on track changes. However, it can somewhat easily be worked around. I myself created a solution where I run another foobar in the background, looping a wav with ALMOST silence created in an editor. iTunes could have something similar implemented that ensures no interrupted digital playback.

For that matter, a DSP for foobar2000 that did the same would be great.

This post has been edited by odyssey: Jun 26 2009, 11:47


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tim3320070
post Jun 26 2009, 20:56
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-April 07
Member No.: 42631



I use WASAPI output. It does not happen with Media Monkey or iTunes, they work perfectly. I don't use a receiver like that, see my previous post for my setup.
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Jun 26 2009, 21:50
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



So, what you are suggesting is that the "Audio-gd Reference-1 DAC" cannot be held responsible for this delay - Why not? As far as I can see you are using a digital chain, just like me. I don't see why a DAC in a reciever and some other DAC shouldn't behave similarily.

If you are suggesting that foobar2000 is faulty, I think I'd have to disappoint you because that's highly unlikely on this matter. As I mentioned in my previous thread, it's more likely other applications has implemented workarounds for this kind of problem or maybe they are using different output methods - Which did you try besides WASAPI?


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tim3320070
post Jun 27 2009, 22:50
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-April 07
Member No.: 42631



Maybe you can explain why I have never heard a delay with 2 other DAC's besides the Ref-1, iTunes and Media Monkey? Only Foobar. I want to use Foobar, really, but the delay is a deal killer.
I will try other plug-ins. There must be some other trouble shooting ideas?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tim3320070
post Jun 27 2009, 23:03
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-April 07
Member No.: 42631



Okay- it seems it is WASAPI. The only one that works correctly is the "Primary Sound Driver". It seems too much to bother though as MM works/ sounds the same to me and works better overall (considering I don't sutomize like a of Foobar users seem to do) -handles more files better too.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Jun 27 2009, 23:26
Post #10





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



QUOTE (tim3320070 @ Jun 27 2009, 17:50) *
Maybe you can explain why I have never heard a delay with 2 other DAC's besides the Ref-1, iTunes and Media Monkey?
Because iTunes and MediaMonkey don't do bit-perfect playback?

QUOTE (tim3320070 @ Jun 27 2009, 17:50) *
Only Foobar. I want to use Foobar, really, but the delay is a deal killer.
I will try other plug-ins. There must be some other trouble shooting ideas?
Besides trying a not-broken DAC? laugh.gif

QUOTE (tim3320070 @ Jun 27 2009, 18:03) *
Okay- it seems it is WASAPI. The only one that works correctly is the "Primary Sound Driver". It seems too much to bother though as MM works/ sounds the same to me and works better overall (considering I don't sutomize like a of Foobar users seem to do)
It's likely Primary Sound driver isn't doing bit-perfect output either. Either way, the likelihood that you could ever prove hearing a difference between output modes is very unlikely. If you were attempting to use fb2k+WASAPI simply because you've been told doing so would result in some magical sound quality improvement, I'm afraid you've been lied to.
A simple checking of foobar's FAQ could have told you this. wink.gif

This post has been edited by shakey_snake: Jun 27 2009, 23:32


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jun 27 2009, 23:32
Post #11





Group: Developer
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (tim3320070)
Maybe you can explain why I have never heard a delay with 2 other DAC's besides the Ref-1, iTunes and Media Monkey? Only Foobar.


Switch to 16 bit output and turn "Dither" option on. Foobar2000 won't output digital silence.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tim3320070
post Jun 28 2009, 15:52
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-April 07
Member No.: 42631



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Jun 27 2009, 17:32) *
QUOTE (tim3320070)
Maybe you can explain why I have never heard a delay with 2 other DAC's besides the Ref-1, iTunes and Media Monkey? Only Foobar.


Switch to 16 bit output and turn "Dither" option on. Foobar2000 won't output digital silence.


My Bel Canto converter only does 24 bit so setting it to 16 bit kills output.
Finally someone with a theory, thanks! Anymore ideas?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jun 28 2009, 18:07
Post #13





Group: Developer
Posts: 3212
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (odyssey @ Jun 26 2009, 14:47) *
Other soundcards I've had, has behaved differently, mostly just doing this on track changes. However, it can somewhat easily be worked around. I myself created a solution where I run another foobar in the background, looping a wav with ALMOST silence created in an editor. iTunes could have something similar implemented that ensures no interrupted digital playback.

For that matter, a DSP for foobar2000 that did the same would be great.


Well, I wrote very simple DSP plugin that adds white noise (TPDF) or DC offset to a signal. I wonder if it can help...

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=73072
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 05:34