IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
fb v. 0.9.6.8 incorrectly displays ISO-8859-1 ID3v2 tags
cancel
post Jul 6 2009, 06:48
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 6-July 09
Member No.: 71231



My default locale is cyrillic and foobar2000 doesn't display properly ISO-8859-1 encoded frames of id3v2 tags. It looks like it displays ISO-8859-1 frames converted to CP1251.

Is it possible to tell fb2000 to not translate ISO-8859-1 frames?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post Jul 6 2009, 07:04
Post #2





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



Foobar reads/writes in UTF-8. If the tags are not in your code page (cyrillic) or standard ASCII, I suppose you'll see some garbage for some chars in different code page, if that's what you are telling. That can be solved using foo_chacon

[edit] You shouldn't have porblem with latin-1

This post has been edited by 2E7AH: Jul 6 2009, 07:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cancel
post Jul 6 2009, 07:12
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 6-July 09
Member No.: 71231



QUOTE (2E7AH @ Jul 6 2009, 12:04) *
[edit] You shouldn't have porblem with latin-1


But I have unfortunately. Latin-1 is always converted to CP1251.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cancel
post Jul 6 2009, 07:17
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 6-July 09
Member No.: 71231



Here is an example http://i067.radikal.ru/0907/44/6a3e1b230055.png

Instead of “Vsen - Spirit | Hlll” it shows what you see on screenshot.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post Jul 6 2009, 07:22
Post #5





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



OK then, for accented characters you should use foo_chacon

[edit] Hm, I tried foo_chacon right now but it doesn't seems to convert latin-1 chars right (same CP1251)

This post has been edited by 2E7AH: Jul 6 2009, 07:32
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cancel
post Jul 6 2009, 07:32
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 6-July 09
Member No.: 71231



QUOTE (2E7AH @ Jul 6 2009, 12:22) *
OK then, for accented characters you should use foo_chacon


But I don't want to edit files (actually I can't), they are absolutely normal, I just want to see latin-1 frames content not converted to local default one-byte encoding. Is it normal to silently convert latin-1 to local charset? Maybe there is somewhere extension to override suce behavior?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post Jul 6 2009, 07:42
Post #7





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



They are not converted, but just displayed as is in your code page. Put the files in WMP or Winamp and you'll see the same garbage chars, but I'm right now looking why foo_chacon can't convert it as it should.

[edit] missunderstood

This post has been edited by 2E7AH: Jul 6 2009, 07:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cancel
post Jul 6 2009, 07:57
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 6-July 09
Member No.: 71231



QUOTE (2E7AH @ Jul 6 2009, 12:42) *
Well, it's normal if you what it to. Put the files in WMP or Winamp and you'll see the same garbage chars, but I'm right now looking why foo_chacon can't convert it as it should.


Nope, winamp (mp3 decoder actually) has the option how to interpret latin-1 tags so winamp displays tags properly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post Jul 6 2009, 13:20
Post #9





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



For users in CP1251 (cyrillic) who might have problems with old ISO_8859-1 (latin1) charset, here is quick macro for masstagger or "properties > tools > automatically fill values..."
Example is for TITLE which is most common, and like I run to it just now downloading some autoplate release if it's for believing

CODE
$replace(%title%,
'Ў','','ў','','Ј','','Ґ','','Ё','','Є','','Ї','','І','','і','','ґ','','ё','','№','','є','','ј','','Ѕ','','ѕ','','ї','','А','','Б','','В','','Г','','Д','','Е','','Ж','','З','','И','','Й','','К','','Л','','М','','Н','','О','','П','','Р','','С','','Т','','У','','Ф','','Х','','Ц','','Ч','','Ш','','Щ','','Ъ','','Ы','','Ь','','Э','','Ю','','Я','','а','','б','','в','','г','','д','','е','','ж','','з','','и','','й','','к','','л','','м','','н','','о','','п','','р','','с','','т','','у','','ф','','х','','ц','','ч','','ш','','щ','','ъ','','ы','','ь','','э','','ю','','я','')


This post has been edited by 2E7AH: Jul 6 2009, 13:22
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cancel
post Jul 7 2009, 05:32
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 6-July 09
Member No.: 71231



QUOTE (2E7AH @ Jul 6 2009, 18:20) *
here is quick macro for masstagger or "properties > tools > automatically fill values..."here is quick macro for masstagger or "properties > tools > automatically fill values..."


Is there any plugin/script that doesn't touch original files and just edit database records? I don't want to alter mp3s because they are absolutely correct.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post Jul 7 2009, 06:03
Post #11





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



No, there isn't mainly for performance reason. And I wouldn't say that files tagged in 8859-1 code are correct from the code page perspective. Today everything is in UTF, unless you are talking about compatibility with same old hardware or you want to use old standard ID3v2.3 in 8859-1
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 14:27