IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Suggestion: Converter queue
Squeller
post Jul 18 2009, 13:49
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



I convert stuff for 8 GB USB sticks. Which already means a lot of stuff in case of <=320kbps audio.

The situation is this:

"Ah, I want Bruckner Symphonies" "Convert,*click*"
"Oh, I forget the Masses" -> "Convert,*click*"
*click*click* "Hmm, Vaughan Williams Tallis Fantasia would be nice" Convert,*click*
Ooomph. I forgot to convert the same stuff with VLevel DSP applied.
Convert,*clickclickclick*

Already 4 Converter threads, the CPU says "thank you".

My suggestion: It would be helpful to just add them to a converter queue. As a first idea and to keep things simple (no new queue management window), fb2k could offer one advanced option like: "Queue [n]th converter task" - which means, if you convert No. (n+1), this job would not be immediately executed, but added to the last one. The last converter progress window should thus be extended with the newly added job.

For the status quo defenders: Yes, a scientific plan before converting would also help. But life is also spontaneous decisions. smile.gif

EDIT: I chose a wrong topic, I meant "converter queue", I cannot change it, a mod may feel free to change the topic, thanks..

This post has been edited by Squeller: Jul 18 2009, 13:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smkk
post Sep 8 2009, 05:11
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 603
Joined: 18-November 07
Member No.: 48839



Just been thinking about the same. Would really make things easier if you could just queue stuff to convert. And you don't have to wait for one convert to finish before starting the next.

tl;dr: useless +1 post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Sep 8 2009, 08:55
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



Add a keyboard shortcut or a button to "Send to playlist" with a specific playlist. After you've collected all your songs, hit convert smile.gif I know it's not really the same, but it's a nice workaround.

It would actually be great if the converter were smart and just add to it's cue when you convert, instead of getting multiple converter-windows up. It would probably also be lighter on the CPU that way.


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Squeller
post Sep 15 2009, 05:25
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



QUOTE (odyssey @ Sep 8 2009, 09:55) *
Add a keyboard shortcut or a button to "Send to playlist" with a specific playlist. After you've collected all your songs, hit convert smile.gif I know it's not really the same, but it's a nice workaround.

No, it is not smile.gif -> if you use different converter presets.

QUOTE
It would actually be great if the converter were smart and just add to it's cue when you convert, instead of getting multiple converter-windows up. It would probably also be lighter on the CPU that way.

Maybe also the conversion process window somewhat integrated into fb2k would be nice.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Sep 15 2009, 08:25
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



QUOTE (Squeller @ Sep 15 2009, 06:25) *
Maybe also the conversion process window somewhat integrated into fb2k would be nice.

Or just a button that will expand the process-window with a visible queue.


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
randal1013
post Oct 24 2009, 23:08
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 304
Joined: 1-March 06
Member No.: 28189



i would very much like to see this implemented. i will be mass converting my library to the new nero AAC version (when it comes out) for my ipod and a converter queue would be very handy.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fandango
post Dec 21 2009, 00:12
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1546
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 8353



+1

I just been thinking actually doing the same thing:

Prepared some music to listen to on my mobile. Found an album hit convert... kept browsing, found another album and hit convert again while the first batch was still running. Eventually having 3-4 converter windows open, each processing 4 files at once.

proposal
The converter queue should sit in the background and start going whenever something is added to it. Maybe it could be made visible and even editable in a playlist, but I don't think that's necessary. A new sub-window that pop-ups whenever something is added to the queue is another solution, too.

Highlighting the batch jobs / entries that are being processed would be nice (logically the top-most in the list). Very nice would be to have progess bars inside the list entries: each list entry contains the path of the files being processed just like the current converter view does it, but with split columns for source and destination, or maybe with customizable columns. But the nifty thing would be a progress bar in the background of each list entry being processed.

Apart from the actual design, the fact that there's no such thing and every new conversion job is run in parallel isn't a perfect situation. As a simple enhancement, new additional converter batch job windows could be paused when created and automatically started when the one that was started before has finished.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zmur
post Jan 11 2010, 19:42
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 119
Joined: 2-February 06
Member No.: 27497



that would be a very nice feature to have, tbh i'm surprised that its not implemented already.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
onthejazz
post Jan 13 2010, 05:35
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 117
Joined: 2-April 02
From: Minnesota
Member No.: 1666



I'd like to throw in my support for this as well, great idea! Would make things so much more efficient. Thanks for suggesting it, hopefully it's deemed a worthy native feature.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post Jan 13 2010, 12:04
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



I like conversion queuing too, sometimes would be very handy for me. Since I discovered in Total Commander the possibility of queuing copy and move jobs (button or command key F2 in copy or move window) I can't live without it (a bit exaggerated laugh.gif ). A window with queued jobs pops up and shows the progress. Individual pending jobs can be deleted or moved up or down in queue. Also can a speed limit be set and queue can be paused.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
onthejazz
post Jan 14 2010, 11:02
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 117
Joined: 2-April 02
From: Minnesota
Member No.: 1666



Sounds dreamy, let us hope.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fandango
post May 25 2011, 19:23
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1546
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 8353



Bump, and hoping for a reaction of the devs...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xnor
post May 25 2011, 19:32
Post #13





Group: Developer
Posts: 387
Joined: 29-April 11
From: Austria
Member No.: 90198



I'd also like to see this implemented.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fandango
post May 29 2011, 13:51
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1546
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 8353



Sorry for bumping this thread again, but I've got an idea for an alternative that would be much easier to implement as there's no major rewrite necessary and it would effectively serve the same purpose.

Latest versions of WinRAR added a feature (as many other programs have before) that when a new compresion or decompression job is added for example via the shell extension, there will be a WinRAR window popup, but the job starts paused if there's already another process at work. Once that process has finished, (one of) the next jobs is automatically unpaused. This effectively prevents HDD clogging and creating more threads than CPU core are available.

I hope that at least "open new converter jobs paused and automatically continue when ready" is considered for addition. sweat.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post Nov 21 2011, 01:49
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 250
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



I was thinking along related line recently when finally getting down to replaygain tagging my slightly disorganised & imperfectly tagged music. Viewing the library by folder structure I manually selected various folders or tracks, & chose whether to scan them as album, either by folder or tags, or just as tracks. It didn't take long before I had several concurrent scans running, & foobar started to bog down & become occasionally unresponsive, with playback also sometimes stuttering.

Wouldn't a queue system for this be beneficial too?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dolgorazzo
post May 4 2013, 16:58
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-September 11
Member No.: 93624



+1
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 11:36