IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Upload forum rules

- No over 30 sec clips of copyrighted music. Cite properly and never more than necessary for the discussion.


- No copyrighted software without permission.


- Click here for complete Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Convolver CD de-emphasis impulsefile
Wombat
post Nov 15 2009, 19:03
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 950
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 235



an impulse file to use with foobar convolver for example to do de-emphasis on CDs that were recorded with pre-emphasis, should be highly accurate

It is old and not based on the Waves impulsefile that was floating around.

This post has been edited by Wombat: Nov 15 2009, 19:09
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Impuls_Deemph_32.zip ( 9.67K ) Number of downloads: 551
 
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pawelq
post Dec 12 2009, 21:31
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 541
Joined: 20-December 05
From: Springfield, VA
Member No.: 26522



A simpler solution: foobar EQ de-emphasis preset
Attached File(s)
Attached File  deemphasis.zip ( 152bytes ) Number of downloads: 319
 


--------------------
Ceterum censeo, there should be an "%is_stop_after_current%".
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Dec 12 2009, 22:30
Post #3





Group: Developer
Posts: 3219
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Deemphasis impulse file generated by SoX: Attached File  deemph_SoX.wav ( 664bytes ) Number of downloads: 266


QUOTE (pawelq)
A simpler solution: foobar EQ de-emphasis preset

Simpler, but also less accurate (green line - SoX, red - impulse from Wombat, yellow - fb2k eq.):


This post has been edited by lvqcl: Feb 14 2013, 16:18
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pawelq
post Dec 12 2009, 23:39
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 541
Joined: 20-December 05
From: Springfield, VA
Member No.: 26522



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Dec 12 2009, 16:30) *
Deemphasis impulse file generated by SoX: [attachment=5542:deemph44.wav]

QUOTE (pawelq)
A simpler solution: foobar EQ de-emphasis preset

Simpler, but also less accurate (green line - SoX, red - impulse from Wombat, yellow - fb2k eq.):



Wow. You're right. I thought that foobar eq worked differently using smooth interpolation between center frequencies of bands. I should have checked it


--------------------
Ceterum censeo, there should be an "%is_stop_after_current%".
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pawelq
post Dec 13 2009, 17:51
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 541
Joined: 20-December 05
From: Springfield, VA
Member No.: 26522



Now, there is no quick way to enable/disable the convolver from the UI, like I can do with the eq. One has to go through preferences, DSP, etc. So I converted my pre-emphasized ogg to FLAC while convolving it with your impulse file, and I got rid of all the hassle at the expense of losing 200 MB of disk space :-).

Thanks again for showing me the frequency response of the eq, and for providing impulse files.


--------------------
Ceterum censeo, there should be an "%is_stop_after_current%".
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post Dec 15 2009, 17:48
Post #6





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



QUOTE (pawelq @ Dec 13 2009, 17:51) *
Now, there is no quick way to enable/disable the convolver from the UI, like I can do with the eq. One has to go through preferences, DSP, etc.

Save it as DSP preset and pin it to button or shortcut (in latest betas)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pawelq
post Dec 15 2009, 18:37
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 541
Joined: 20-December 05
From: Springfield, VA
Member No.: 26522



QUOTE (2E7AH @ Dec 15 2009, 11:48) *
QUOTE (pawelq @ Dec 13 2009, 17:51) *
Now, there is no quick way to enable/disable the convolver from the UI, like I can do with the eq. One has to go through preferences, DSP, etc.

Save it as DSP preset and pin it to button or shortcut (in latest betas)



As I said, I already chose another solution. But out of curiosity - will this give me feedback so I can easily tell if the DSP is on or off?


--------------------
Ceterum censeo, there should be an "%is_stop_after_current%".
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post Dec 15 2009, 19:26
Post #8





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



If you shift-click playback menu, active DSP is ticked in DSP settings submenu
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wombat
post Dec 18 2009, 17:10
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 950
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 235



I uploaded the sample for Aquares mostly. If he could find some time he may compare it like the other ones here: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....=65067&st=0
Of cause we still donīt know how exact this Denon sourced reference file is but it may be fun.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 02:58