IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

14 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_playlist_organizer (aka foo_plorg), A component to organize your playlists in a treeview
NEMO7538
post May 22 2010, 13:32
Post #76





Group: Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



QUOTE (smkk @ May 19 2010, 13:47) *
One tiny feature request: When dropping files from one playlist to another it automatically selects the playlist which the files have been droped in to,
if possible could the selection stay with the source playlist?

That's implemented in the new version which also fixes a bug in the standard context menu activation.


QUOTE (laite @ May 22 2010, 13:24) *
It seems that everytime I close and start foobar, my playlists suddenly move from their respective folders to folder called "new" (not created by me). Have I missed some option about saving configuration or is this a bug?

To be exact, I have folders called "genre" and "rating", in addition to "default", but my playlists keep jumping around. Might this be because I have last.fm radio on one playlist, which (I think) creates itself from scratch when starting foobar?

I have the newest version of foo_plorg.

A "New" folder is created only if playlists are found that were not in the tree the last time you closed the panel. It should not happen if you keep the panel permanently (even with last.fm radio).

This post has been edited by NEMO7538: May 22 2010, 13:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
laite
post May 22 2010, 13:44
Post #77





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 24-April 10
Member No.: 80132



QUOTE (NEMO7538 @ May 22 2010, 14:32) *
A "New" folder is created only if playlists are found that were not in the tree the last time you closed the panel. It should not happen if you keep the panel permanently (even with last.fm radio).


That's kind of strange, since I'm not doing anything to the layout or playlists, just closing and restarting foobar. I've had five playlists for long time, and they stay in the "default" category, but everything created since I installed foo_plorg move out of their folders everytime to "new" category. Could it be possible that component is unable to save configurations due to some protection in Win7 and so it finds them as "new" everytime?

Strange.

EDIT: Actually, I checked the appdata\...\foo_plorg.dll.cfg and there seems to be outdated data. Should this be updated everytime or where does this component save its configs?

EDIT2: Deleted the config file, now all playlists go to "default"-category. All changes with arranging or making folders disappear when restarting foobar. Changing title formatting from preferences seems to work fine, and is saved to config file but the folders ain't.

This post has been edited by laite: May 22 2010, 14:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post May 22 2010, 19:06
Post #78





Group: Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



Do you have any message in the console?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
laite
post May 22 2010, 19:19
Post #79





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 24-April 10
Member No.: 80132



QUOTE (NEMO7538 @ May 22 2010, 20:06) *
Do you have any message in the console?


Actually, it seems so. When starting foobar there is this:

Playlist Organizer: Error (Playlist [0-] unfound or name does not match) reading configuration
Playlist Organizer: Unmatched number of playlists while reading configuration
Playlist Organizer: Unfound tree configuration, trying to retrieve from last known configuration
Playlist Organizer: Reinitializing Treeview
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post May 22 2010, 20:19
Post #80





Group: Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



I see ... try to remove the panel from your configuration while foobar is still active (Layout editing mode if you are using CUI). Then close foobar , restart and re add the panel and see if the problem persists. Watch for messages in the console at each step.

Please also check your administrative rights on your appdata\...\ folder and the date/time of foo_plorg.dll.cfg

This post has been edited by NEMO7538: May 22 2010, 20:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
laite
post May 22 2010, 21:13
Post #81





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 24-April 10
Member No.: 80132



QUOTE (NEMO7538 @ May 22 2010, 21:19) *
I see ... try to remove the panel from your configuration while foobar is still active (Layout editing mode if you are using CUI). Then close foobar , restart and re add the panel and see if the problem persists. Watch for messages in the console at each step.


Well, that worked... kind of. When removing playlist organizer from layout, it says in console "Playlist Organizer: Last instance destroyed, Memorizing configuration" and saves current config properly in appdata\...

When I put panel back to layout, there is almost the same messages than before (only last one missing):

"Playlist Organizer: Error (Playlist [0-] unfound or name does not match) reading configuration
Playlist Organizer: Unmatched number of playlists while reading configuration
Playlist Organizer: Unfound tree configuration, trying to retrieve from last known configuration"

However, this reverts organizer to state it was in before removing from layout, so I could do my folders and arrangements at that point and it works. Any additional modifications (without removing panel again) are lost, as before when closing and re-startin foobar.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post May 22 2010, 21:28
Post #82





Group: Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



Well I don't know ...
if you are using CUI, the config. changes of panels should be written in foo_ui_columns.dll.cfg, or theme.fth if you are using DUI.
Check for your permissions and the location of these two files, or try to do a clean install.

This post has been edited by NEMO7538: May 24 2010, 08:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ArchCarrier
post May 28 2010, 15:15
Post #83





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 19-December 07
Member No.: 49695



First of all, thanks a lot for this nice piece of work!

I have one bug and one suggestion:

Bug: When I delete a playlist and restore it again (excellent feature BTW), it isn't restored to its original folder and position, but at the end of all playlists and folders.

Suggestion: It would be nice if playlists could be shown in the tree without being active in Foobar. I have some very large playlists that I don't listen to very often, and they take up a lot of memory when they're active.
To clarify this, a web browser is a good analogy: I have a lot of bookmarks but only a few open tabs in my browser. If I want to view a page, I click the bookmark and the page opens in a new tab. In the Playlist Organizer every bookmark equals a tab and vice versa. Or am I missing something?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post May 29 2010, 11:20
Post #84





Group: Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



QUOTE (ArchCarrier @ May 28 2010, 16:15) *
Bug: When I delete a playlist and restore it again (excellent feature BTW), it isn't restored to its original folder and position, but at the end of all playlists and folders.

Suggestion: It would be nice if playlists could be shown in the tree without being active in Foobar. I have some very large playlists that I don't listen to very often, and they take up a lot of memory when they're active.
To clarify this, a web browser is a good analogy: I have a lot of bookmarks but only a few open tabs in my browser. If I want to view a page, I click the bookmark and the page opens in a new tab. In the Playlist Organizer every bookmark equals a tab and vice versa. Or am I missing something?

Bug: The folder and position are lost when you delete the playlist, there is no simple way to remember it. So it is not really a bug, sorry.
Your suggestion does not make much sense as playlists need to be stored somewhere

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ArchCarrier
post May 29 2010, 11:48
Post #85





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 19-December 07
Member No.: 49695



QUOTE (NEMO7538 @ May 29 2010, 12:20) *
Your suggestion does not make much sense as playlists need to be stored somewhere

Agreed, but they could be stored in a file so that they only consume RAM when they are activated? (Also, autoplaylists could be stored as only a query and sort pattern, which wouldn't take up a lot of space.) Maybe I expected another kind of program when I installed this plugin, but I think it's strange to create and organise many playlists but having them all active as tabs inside Foobar.

Does anyone else have thoughts about this?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
garbanzo.bean
post May 29 2010, 12:01
Post #86





Group: Members
Posts: 260
Joined: 25-September 08
Member No.: 58627



if i'm interpreting you correctly, you're saying that all playlists listed in foo_plorg are also open in separate tabs.
if this is what you're experiencing, then it's because you're using a playlists tabs splitter.
replace the splitter with a straight playlist view and only the active playlist will be shown.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ArchCarrier
post May 30 2010, 10:13
Post #87





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 19-December 07
Member No.: 49695



Sir, you have made my weekend! I was not aware of this option. Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mobyduck
post Jun 6 2010, 08:56
Post #88





Group: Members
Posts: 570
Joined: 24-April 03
From: Italy
Member No.: 6159



I might be doing something wrong, but keyboard shortcuts (Ctrl-P, Ctrl-F, etc.) don't seem to work when foo_plorg has focus: is this intended?

Alessandro
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post Jun 6 2010, 10:26
Post #89





Group: Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



QUOTE (mobyduck @ Jun 6 2010, 09:56) *
I might be doing something wrong, but keyboard shortcuts (Ctrl-P, Ctrl-F, etc.) don't seem to work when foo_plorg has focus: is this intended?

Alessandro

Not really but shortcuts were deactivated during rename operations... I will have a look for the next version.

This post has been edited by NEMO7538: Jun 6 2010, 10:27
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Quadro313
post Jun 16 2010, 13:29
Post #90





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 15-June 10
Member No.: 81512



Hey there.

I believe my question might be a bit dumb , however I am fairly new to foobar, been a Winamp user before.
While looking for a more advanced playlist manager , I came upon this one and I must say I'm loving it. The only thing that's been bugging me is the actions that happen on d&d of a .m3u playlist.

Using .fpl , if I select multiple playlists from outside foobar and drop them into the playlist organizer , they get a new separate playlist inside the organizer , one for each file selected. That's how I like it.
Doing the same with a .m3u ( what my library consists of ) , all the d&d items get dumped in a single playlist called New Playlist. That's not what I want.

So generally my question would be this : Is there a way to alter the drag&drop actions taken , or is there a way to mass convert my .m3u to .fpl? OR is there a way to tell the organizer which playlists to put inside which folder "the hard way" i.e. if each folder&its respective playlists are ever listed anywhere - go there and manually add new playlists?

I'm using CUI.

This post has been edited by Quadro313: Jun 16 2010, 13:32
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post Jun 16 2010, 15:51
Post #91





Group: Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



I'm afraid there is a limitation of the SDK which only recognizes .fpl as valid playlists, as indicated here.
As you have guessed, m3u and other playlists formats are just processed as a bunch of files at the moment, and I am not aware of any possibility to circumvent it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
frnk
post Jul 11 2010, 11:17
Post #92





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 7-February 09
Member No.: 66723



Thanks for this great component! This is exactly what I have been missing since I started using Foobar.

One request though:

Would it be possible to make it so that multiple playlists can be selected? Even if it would be just for moving purposes it would be quite handy, I think.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
grimes
post Jul 18 2010, 20:52
Post #93





Group: Developer
Posts: 302
Joined: 12-November 07
From: Frankfurt
Member No.: 48701



I get this message in console on foobar2000 startup:

QUOTE
[21:36:49] Columns UI/Tab stack: Warning: Playlist Organizer panel was visible on creation! This usually indicates a bug in this panel.


EDIT: Playlist Organizers Preferences broken in foobar2000 v1.1 beta 1?

This post has been edited by grimes: Jul 18 2010, 21:20
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post Aug 21 2010, 10:12
Post #94





Group: Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



QUOTE (grimes @ Jul 18 2010, 21:52) *
... Playlist Organizers Preferences broken in foobar2000 v1.1 beta 1?

That is now fixed in the new version.
Please use the component updater with V1.1 (or redownload form first post) and confirm. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
grimes
post Aug 21 2010, 10:59
Post #95





Group: Developer
Posts: 302
Joined: 12-November 07
From: Frankfurt
Member No.: 48701



Thanks for the fix, Captain Nemo!

I still get this message in Console:

QUOTE
[11:53:26] Columns UI/Tab stack: Warning: Playlist Organizer panel was visible on creation! This usually indicates a bug in this panel.


Does that mean anything serious? ohmy.gif

EDIT: Typo

This post has been edited by grimes: Aug 21 2010, 11:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post Aug 21 2010, 11:14
Post #96





Group: Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



QUOTE (grimes @ Aug 21 2010, 11:59) *
I still get this message in Console:
QUOTE
[11:53:26] Columns UI/Tab stack: Warning: Playlist Organizer panel was visible on creation! This usually indicates a bug in this panel.

Does that mean anything serious? ohmy.gif

I don't think so ...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tg2k3
post Aug 21 2010, 12:47
Post #97





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 10-June 05
Member No.: 22635



i love you
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tg2k3
post Aug 21 2010, 13:09
Post #98





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 10-June 05
Member No.: 22635



btw, is it part of your roadmap to display the categories (at least at level #0) as tabs?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post Aug 21 2010, 14:34
Post #99





Group: Developer
Posts: 814
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



QUOTE (tg2k3 @ Aug 21 2010, 14:09) *
btw, is it part of your roadmap to display the categories (at least at level #0) as tabs?

No ...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hejiamei
post Aug 22 2010, 03:55
Post #100





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 31-December 09
Member No.: 76536



QUOTE (NEMO7538 @ May 3 2010, 17:12) *
I am happy to release a new component that let you organize your playlists in a treeview control.

With foo_playlist_organizer (aka foo_plorg), you will be able to create folders and hierarchies to arrange and categorize your playlists. All current functions are available by drag & drop or right click on items in the panel.
It can be downloaded here and is compatible with both DUI and CUI.
Please check this page for help and additional information.



why don't you add "the Background transparent" function, it's better that we can write code , like the panel stack spillter,like cui ,and so on
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

14 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 14:54