IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

14 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 10 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
BASSMIDI MIDI synthesiser for Windows XP/Vista/7, A new SoundFont based MIDI synth for Win7/Vista/XP
mudlord
post Aug 18 2012, 08:55
Post #176





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



So I take it your system doesnt like the sound driver updates in 3.2 regarding xaudio and dsound then X_X
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RichNagel
post Aug 18 2012, 23:15
Post #177





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89441



QUOTE (mudlord @ Aug 18 2012, 02:55) *
So I take it your system doesnt like the sound driver updates in 3.2 regarding xaudio and dsound then X_X


I'm guessing that's it... those updates in v3.2.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 19 2012, 01:49
Post #178





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



looks like I have to bust out the debugger and VM for this, whats your sound card?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RichNagel
post Aug 19 2012, 05:59
Post #179





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89441



QUOTE (mudlord @ Aug 18 2012, 19:49) *
looks like I have to bust out the debugger and VM for this, whats your sound card?


A Sound Blaster Live (CT4780).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RichNagel
post Aug 20 2012, 02:21
Post #180





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89441



Not 100% sure (unless the guy posts here in this HA thread, which I drected him to do if he still had problems), but here may be someone with the same problem -> http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&a...tart=30#p639312 .
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 20 2012, 14:05
Post #181





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Tried it on a vanilla XP SP3 implementation, crashes.

Looks to crash right in the Xaudio2 destructor, after XAudio2Create call fails for some weird reason. Which hard locks the MIDI synthesis thread.

EDIT: This might sound odd, but tried updating your DirectX? Fixed the problem here in my VM doing that.

ty, zao for C++ term semantics >_>

This post has been edited by mudlord: Aug 20 2012, 14:21
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Aug 20 2012, 18:55
Post #182





Group: Admin
Posts: 4499
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Fixed the issue, uploaded here:

http://kode54.foobar2000.org/bassmididrv.exe
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RichNagel
post Aug 20 2012, 20:22
Post #183





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89441



QUOTE (kode54 @ Aug 20 2012, 12:55) *
Fixed the issue, uploaded here:

http://kode54.foobar2000.org/bassmididrv.exe


A-OK, Kode64, will give it a whirl ASAP smile.gif I'm a bit busy right now, but I'll test it out later this evening smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
edahS
post Aug 21 2012, 03:02
Post #184





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 25-July 12
Member No.: 101728



QUOTE (zizouhiba @ Aug 17 2012, 19:38) *
Hi Everybody,

I tried MASSMIDISynth GS/XG Scale Tuning System Exclusive Messages.
All notes are correctly pitched except the B :

Scale Tuning B : F0 43 10 4C 08 00 4C Cents F7 (Cents from 00 to 7F)

If you can test it please.

Thanks

Ian has made an update to fix this issue, you can download it in here:
http://www.un4seen.com/stuff/bassmidi.zip
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RichNagel
post Aug 21 2012, 05:40
Post #185





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89441



QUOTE (kode54 @ Aug 20 2012, 12:55) *
Fixed the issue, uploaded here: http://kode54.foobar2000.org/bassmididrv.exe


That seemed to do it, guys... no more crashing smile.gif

I still had to go through my "voodoo ritual" detailed previously to sort out all of the registry/device manager stuff, but after sorting it out everything seemed to be working just fine smile.gif


One thing that I noticed though... this version 3.3 seems to have a little more latency compared to the older version 3.1 of the driver. My previous latency tests were:

0.052 for versions 1.x and 3.1
0.110 for versions 2.x

...and for this newer version 3.3, 0.088.

0.088 seconds of latency is almost the same as the Yamaha S-YXG50 WDM driver (0.090 seconds), and is fairly close to what you posted previously, Kode54:

QUOTE (kode54)
The latency of both the BASSMIDI and VSTi drivers is hard coded at 80ms for XAudio2 and 100ms for DirectSound.



Nevertheless, it now almost borderlines on not being too useful for real-time performance. Any idea as to what would cause the differences in latency of version 3.1 compared to version 3.3 of the driver?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RichNagel
post Aug 21 2012, 07:00
Post #186





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89441



Guys,

You should really have a look at this message thread over at the Synthesia forums (page 7 and page 8 of the thread):

https://www.synthesiagame.com/forum/viewtop...5&start=120
https://www.synthesiagame.com/forum/viewtop...5&start=140

...requarding the copyrights of the BASSMIDI Driver, and that "other" guy.

My concern for y'all is that the author of Synthesia just MIGHT be thinking about some sort of commercial license for that "other" guy's BASSMIDI audio library derived softsynth (to include it with an upcoming version of his "Synthesia" program).

https://www.synthesiagame.com/forum/viewtop...=latency#p26860

Note that Nicholas (the author of Synthesia) is a good guy, and quite concerned about copyrights and such, so I figured that y'all might wanna know smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 21 2012, 10:50
Post #187





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Claudio already discussed with me about open sourcing it. Which to me is also a good idea.

We already discussed differences between our software and in hindsight, it was all just a massive coincidence. And I apologised to him for blaming him the first time. I admit I was pretty mad the first time, but now we are on speaking terms. smile.gif

As for a custom build and license of the driver for his software, I have no objections. We did this before for a company, and I don't think kode54 also has a objection to similar one-off payments for code. Just means we have to work out a licensing agreement with the party that we both agree with. But one thing is for certain: the driver code itself is not subject to bundling of BASS license fees, which means any author wanting to license our code, also needs to buy a seperate BASS license.

This post has been edited by mudlord: Aug 21 2012, 10:55
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RichNagel
post Aug 21 2012, 11:01
Post #188





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89441



Thanks for the detailed info, Mudlord, as I almost pulled an 'insert foot in mouth' sort of moment over there LOL smile.gif

As far as a license, I'm now thinking that Nicholas may have been refering to the Coolsoft driver in this message thread -> https://www.synthesiagame.com/forum/viewtop...=latency#p26860 , due to it (supposedly) being lower latency.

I remember reading something over there (I forget which message thread that it was) about some sort of "buffer" setting in the Coolsoft driver that allowed for almost nill latency... but (as a non-coder) I know nothing about the mechanics behind that.

This post has been edited by RichNagel: Aug 21 2012, 11:05
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 21 2012, 11:09
Post #189





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Probably changes:
http://www.un4seen.com/doc/bass/BASS_CONFIG_BUFFER.html

?

that and also modifying the updating periods.

This post has been edited by mudlord: Aug 21 2012, 11:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Aug 21 2012, 18:30
Post #190





Group: Admin
Posts: 4499
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Nope, that's not it. The problem is, when I doubled the samples per frame count in driver initialization, I forgot to halve the frame counts, so I doubled the latency. Things should be fine now.

I also updated BASSMIDI.

http://kode54.foobar2000.org/bassmididrv.exe
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RichNagel
post Aug 21 2012, 21:47
Post #191





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89441



QUOTE (kode54 @ Aug 21 2012, 12:30) *
Things should be fine now. I also updated BASSMIDI.


Superb! Will test ASAP smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RichNagel
post Aug 21 2012, 22:54
Post #192





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89441



I gave it a whirl. It installed without a hitch... short of my 'voodoo ritual' that i had to do again LOL! I'm chalking up those problems as simply 'my PC' <grin>.

Anyhow, no problems or crashes, everything seems to be woking just fine smile.gif Although, after a few tests it appears that the latency is about the same as version 3.3 of the diver (approx. 0.088 seconds).

This post has been edited by RichNagel: Aug 21 2012, 23:04
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lancelot Chan
post Aug 22 2012, 09:23
Post #193





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-August 12
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 102563



Hello! I've to send you a very sincere and deep thank you for your making of bass midi driver! It has resurrected my interest in making music with my soundblaster X-FI. Since it has a very problematic hardware synth that doesn't respond well with many controls, including Chorus. Your software has restored my computer's ability to sound RIGHT with all my soundfonts. Man.... you're the long-awaited solution!

After some testing, I've found that the controller 0 doesn't change the bank. Bank selection doesn't work in the current version. Also, the midi driver configuration master volume bar doesn't work in Win 7 (but that doesn't matter as much as bank selection). Also, whenever I change the soundfont list, I need to restart my cakewalk 9 to make it take effect.

BTW, 16 channels are usually more than enough, but could you give it 1 more port to make it 32 channels, just like the soundblaster hardware synth?

Thanks a lot. I can't state it enough!


This post has been edited by Lancelot Chan: Aug 22 2012, 09:26
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RichNagel
post Aug 22 2012, 09:35
Post #194





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-March 11
Member No.: 89441



QUOTE (Lancelot Chan @ Aug 22 2012, 03:23) *
BTW, 16 channels are usually more than enough, but could you give it 1 more port to make it 32 channels, just like the soundblaster hardware synth?


Ditto to that feature request/suggestion smile.gif

I think it would be extremely cool and handy if the BASSMIDI Driver provided 2-4 ports... something similar to a Sound Blaster Live's two hardware synthesizer ports:

SB Live! Synth A [CF20]
SB Live! Synth B [CF20]

Something like:

BASSMIDI Driver Synth A
BASSMIDI Driver Synth B

smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 22 2012, 10:42
Post #195





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



How does that work out when you sequence?

do you have to select more than 1 synthesiser instance?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lancelot Chan
post Aug 22 2012, 11:08
Post #196





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-August 12
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 102563



When I sequence with SBLive! or X-Fi, it actually has 2 ports like
SB Live! Synth A [CF20]
SB Live! Synth B [CF20]

Then in cakewalk, I select both ports as output ports and both as soundfont devices. Then I can allocate tracks to each of them, which contains 16 channels each.

p.s. Please fix the bank select. This is important. biggrin.gif

QUOTE (mudlord @ Aug 22 2012, 11:42) *
How does that work out when you sequence?

do you have to select more than 1 synthesiser instance?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 22 2012, 11:25
Post #197





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Did you send a GS reset in your MIDIs?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lancelot Chan
post Aug 22 2012, 11:49
Post #198





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-August 12
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 102563



QUOTE (mudlord @ Aug 22 2012, 12:25) *
Did you send a GS reset in your MIDIs?


You mean for bank select? Let me try now.....

No effect. Still can't change bank regardless of using cakewalk track control or event in the track. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lancelot Chan
post Aug 22 2012, 13:09
Post #199





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-August 12
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 102563



For your information, I use Win7, SB X-Fi titanium and cakewalk pro audio 9. I can select bank with X-Fi's hardware synth but can't with bassmidi driver.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Aug 22 2012, 13:58
Post #200





Group: Admin
Posts: 4499
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Does the bank select work with XMPlay MIDI plug-in?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

14 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 15:27