IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

EAC 'starting up' error
Deathspawner
post Mar 11 2012, 20:29
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 6-August 05
Member No.: 23721



Hi all:

I have never had an issue with EAC before where it simply wouldn't start up, but after an OS format last week, that's what I'm facing. My PC's hardware has not changed at all - EAC was working before the format, but not after. When starting the program up, I see a pop-up stating, "Exact Audio Copy is starting up... Please wait!", and it never goes away. I've left it there for up to an hour and still nothing. I've also searched the Web far and wide for an answer and have come up empty-handed. I've tried various tips and tricks I've seen around the Web unrelated to my issue, and nothing has helped there. I have even cleared out the registry entry for the program, reinstalled the program and once again, nothing at all.

I picked up a handful of CDs on a recent trip and would love to rip them biggrin.gif If anyone has any idea what I should try, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

PS: I am using the 1.0 beta 3.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
mjb2006
post Mar 11 2012, 23:46
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 706
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



I'd start by looking in the Device Manager for anything amiss. Also make sure you have the necessary motherboard (chipset) drivers installed; often this is something you get through Windows/Microsoft Update, and it can affect drive access. EAC has some command-line options that can be used to disable some features that might be interfering; check the docs in the program folder. You might see if other software like CUERipper (part of CUETools) or dbPoweramp will work.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Deathspawner
post Mar 13 2012, 02:05
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 6-August 05
Member No.: 23721



QUOTE (mjb2006 @ Mar 11 2012, 16:46) *
I'd start by looking in the Device Manager for anything amiss. Also make sure you have the necessary motherboard (chipset) drivers installed; often this is something you get through Windows/Microsoft Update, and it can affect drive access. EAC has some command-line options that can be used to disable some features that might be interfering; check the docs in the program folder. You might see if other software like CUERipper (part of CUETools) or dbPoweramp will work.


Hi mjb2006 and thanks for the response.

Everything is fine in my Device Manager and all motherboard drivers are installed. I'll check out that command-line option but I am still baffled about why there's an issue at all. Literally nothing in my PC changed across the format, and I never setup the OS different from one time to the next. I'd use dBpoweramp but I prefer to use EAC.

Thanks for the help!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 04:51