IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Foobar spluttering, while browsing, with chrome or firefox v1.1.11
Javadevil
post Mar 16 2012, 03:15
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 16-March 12
Member No.: 97836



Hi there,
I've found Foobar 1.1.11 will splutter as I change tabs or scroll in chrome of firefox.
Its a choppy sound, if won't playback normally.

I've gone back to 1.1.10 and theres no problems.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Mar 16 2012, 03:32
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2337
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Can not help with your lack of information. Please read the sticky right above your post.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Javadevil
post Mar 16 2012, 04:35
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 16-March 12
Member No.: 97836



QUOTE (tpijag @ Mar 16 2012, 12:32) *
Can not help with your lack of information. Please read the sticky right above your post.

Okay,
Its still happening with 1.1.10 too.

Details:

I'm running windows Vista 64bit, Intel 6600 quadcore, 8GB or ram.

I've tried turning off skype, gtalk and openoffice quickstart.


Components:
CODE
Core (2011-12-02 15:07:36 UTC)
foobar2000 core 1.1.10
foo_albumlist.dll (2011-12-02 15:06:12 UTC)
Album List 4.5
foo_cdda.dll (2011-12-02 15:06:00 UTC)
CD Audio Decoder 3.0
foo_converter.dll (2011-12-02 15:05:44 UTC)
Converter 1.5
foo_dsp_std.dll (2011-12-02 15:06:12 UTC)
Standard DSP Array 1.0
foo_fileops.dll (2011-12-02 15:05:08 UTC)
File Operations 2.1.3
foo_freedb2.dll (2011-12-02 15:05:08 UTC)
freedb Tagger 0.6.4
foo_input_std.dll (2011-12-02 15:05:54 UTC)
Standard Input Array 1.0
foo_rgscan.dll (2011-12-02 15:05:48 UTC)
ReplayGain Scanner 2.1.2
foo_ui_std.dll (2011-12-02 15:06:24 UTC)
Default User Interface 0.9.5
foo_unpack.dll (2011-12-02 15:05:24 UTC)
ZIP/GZIP/RAR Reader 1.6


This post has been edited by db1989: Mar 17 2012, 02:32
Reason for edit: [codebox]ing components
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Mar 16 2012, 10:35
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1244
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



Skips and stutters should first be investigated with the dpc latency checker.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
artmindes
post Mar 16 2012, 14:40
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 8-December 11
Member No.: 95681



QUOTE (dhromed @ Mar 16 2012, 10:35) *
Skips and stutters should first be investigated with the dpc latency checker.


I've got the similar experience - some stutters when for example browsing internet on Chrome or Firefox.
I use Win 7 Pro 64 bit
Latest Foobar version 1.1.11 I with the most standard components (nothing exotic)
Full file buffering: ON (300000kb)
Output buffer length: 500ms
dpc latency checker gets very occasional and not very high spikes, but stutters do not occur on J.River Media Center 17 at all.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Mar 16 2012, 14:56
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2337
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Artmindes, people want to provide assistance, but can not if you do not take enough effort to provide information as per the Sticky for this forum.

My foobar2000 runs flawlessly on an old XP low ram machine. Uses a couple percent of my CPU and 10k memory. Yet, I can make my system choke with a Foobar2000 taking 90%+ of my CPU and large chunks of my memory with a heavily modified configuration loaded with visualizations and specific 3rd party components.

Without specifics regarding your configuration effort in providing help is pointless and a waste of time. At the very least, you can provide your configuration components with a simple copy / paste into a CODEBOX

This post has been edited by tpijag: Mar 16 2012, 15:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
artmindes
post Mar 16 2012, 16:01
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 8-December 11
Member No.: 95681



Thank you for replying.
Here is the components list (however most of them I don't actively use, but I am not sure if it does matter in troubleshooting):

CODE
Core (2012-02-04 13:05:48 UTC)
foobar2000 core 1.1.11
foo_albumlist.dll (2012-02-04 13:04:12 UTC)
Album List 4.5
foo_cdda.dll (2012-02-04 13:03:52 UTC)
CD Audio Decoder 3.0
foo_controlserver.dll (2012-01-10 22:02:46 UTC)
Control Server 1.0.1
foo_converter.dll (2012-02-04 13:04:00 UTC)
Converter 1.5
foo_dsp_dolbyhp.dll (2012-01-10 17:26:11 UTC)
Dolby Headphone Wrapper 1.4.1
foo_dsp_effect.dll (2012-01-10 17:26:16 UTC)
Effect DSP 0.9.2
foo_dsp_std.dll (2012-02-04 13:04:14 UTC)
Standard DSP Array 1.0
foo_dsp_vstwrap.dll (2009-05-11 16:08:58 UTC)
George Yohng's VST Wrapper 1.2
foo_httpcontrol.dll (2011-07-04 19:27:56 UTC)
HTTP Control 0.97.9
foo_input_std.dll (2012-02-04 13:05:10 UTC)
Standard Input Array 1.0
foo_out_ks.dll (2012-01-10 20:42:41 UTC)
Kernel Streaming Output 1.2.2
foo_out_wasapi.dll (2012-01-10 17:26:28 UTC)
WASAPI output support 2.1
foo_playcount.dll (2010-12-28 13:49:08 UTC)
Playback Statistics 3.0.1
foo_plorg.dll (2012-01-10 17:26:30 UTC)
Playlist Organizer 2.4
foo_rgscan.dll (2012-02-04 13:03:48 UTC)
ReplayGain Scanner 2.1.2
foo_ui_columns.dll (2010-03-20 23:43:13 UTC)
Columns UI 0.3.8.5
foo_clownware.dll (2010-02-05 15:26:56 UTC)
UI Hacks 2010-02-05
foo_ui_std.dll (2012-02-04 13:04:08 UTC)
Default User Interface 0.9.5
foo_uie_biography.dll (2010-04-30 15:49:24 UTC)
Biography View 0.4.2.0
foo_uie_elplaylist.dll (2010-04-03 17:39:02 UTC)
ELPlaylist 0.6.8.2(beta)
foo_uie_esplaylist.dll (2010-04-29 16:01:08 UTC)
EsPlaylist 0.1.0.0
foo_uie_lyrics2.dll (2009-12-22 17:12:56 UTC)
Lyric Show Panel 2 0.4.4
foo_uie_panel_splitter.dll (2009-12-09 16:16:12 UTC)
Panel Stack Splitter 0.3.8.3(alpha)
foo_uie_vis_channel_spectrum.dll (2008-05-17 19:02:12 UTC)
Channel Spectrum panel 0.17.2
foo_uie_wsh_panel_mod.dll (2010-02-28 02:59:14 UTC)
WSH Panel Mod 1.3.2
foo_vst.dll (2011-03-05 07:19:04 UTC)
VST 2.4 adapter 0.9.0.3


This post has been edited by db1989: Mar 17 2012, 02:33
Reason for edit: deleting pointless full quote of, and adding [codebox] ignored from, above post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Mar 16 2012, 16:17
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2337
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Is this a config you have put together or a skin from someone else.
At the very least you have at least one component that Hacks foobar2000 in ways that violate it's license. Run the troubleshooting and see what comes up. There is no reason for foobar2000 to not play smoothly.

EDIT: The simplest way to troubleshoot this yourself is to systematically remove components until operation is working correctly. If you do not want to delete the components you can go the the user-components directory and just prepend xx to the individual components name and it will not load upon reload of Foobar2000.

This post has been edited by tpijag: Mar 16 2012, 16:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
artmindes
post Mar 16 2012, 16:33
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 8-December 11
Member No.: 95681



This is configuration copied from my Foobar.
I've done the test, but unfortunately it does not tell me which exactly component violates foobar2000 license.
I'll try to do with thing with renaming or removing component. Hopefully it will help.

Thank you for your advice!

This post has been edited by db1989: Mar 17 2012, 02:34
Reason for edit: deleting pointless full quote of above post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Javadevil
post Mar 17 2012, 02:12
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 16-March 12
Member No.: 97836



I'm pretty sure my components are stock, no custom ones.
Its only happened recently, within the last 2 weeks, I'm wondering if its a flash update or something else I have installed, hmmmm.
Foobar works fine on my wifes PC running XP.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Mar 17 2012, 02:37
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5147
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (artmindes @ Mar 16 2012, 15:33) *
I've done the test, but unfortunately it does not tell me which exactly component violates foobar2000 license.
I'll try to do with thing with renaming or removing component. Hopefully it will help.

Cryptic clue:
QUOTE (tpijag @ Mar 16 2012, 15:17) *
At the very least you have at least one component that Hacks foobar2000 in ways that violate it's license.
QUOTE (tpijag @ Mar 16 2012, 15:17) *
Hacks
And the forum software has already renamed the offending plugin in your post, in one way.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Mar 17 2012, 08:10
Post #12





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 953
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



Remove foo_clownware (foo_clownware), disable full file buffering, increase playback buffer to a few seconds. If you really need to load audio fully into RAM, say to avoid disk access on a laptop or similar, try foo_ramdisk instead of full file buffering. Also try to fall back to DirectSound output, if you are using WASAPI or ASIO right now.

The DPC latency checker posted before might also help.


--------------------
Audiophiles live in constant fear of jitter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2014 - 03:35