IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
fb2k sorting columns like itunes?, Moved from Support (TOS #6)
Streamline2511
post Mar 31 2012, 19:06
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 31-March 12
Member No.: 98259



This is probably going to get me flamed, this has probably been asked before, ive used google to search the site as well as tried to use the search function built into the side and failed to find what im looking for, so here goes. I have no scripting knowledge when it comes to foobar and would like some help in acheiving my simple goal.



This is a normal playlist (not a media library) but how can i get the columns to file with the relevant information, music files do have tags not all of them but at least 3/4's do.

thank in advanced guys / girls biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
garym
post Mar 31 2012, 19:11
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 505
Joined: 16-September 06
From: United States
Member No.: 35261



use facets component to get this to work exactly the way you are seeking

This post has been edited by db1989: Mar 31 2012, 22:18
Reason for edit: deleting pointless full quote of above post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Streamline2511
post Mar 31 2012, 20:14
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 31-March 12
Member No.: 98259



Ive downloaded the faclet plugin from foobar but when i enable editing mode i dont see any option to insert, just trying to set up one big playlist, with filtering like itunes if my first post was not clear, i do not wish to connect to a media library,

thank you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Mar 31 2012, 20:42
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4326
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



QUOTE (Streamline2511 @ Mar 31 2012, 19:14) *
i do not wish to connect to a media library,


that's the problem. those filters only display what is monitored as part of the foobar library - file>preferences>media library>music folders.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Mar 31 2012, 20:51
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2337
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Could you not create just one everything playlist and using facets change it's source from library to playlist via the facet toolbar?
Facets Docs

This post has been edited by tpijag: Mar 31 2012, 20:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Streamline2511
post Mar 31 2012, 22:25
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 31-March 12
Member No.: 98259



i had a go at changing it to the current playlist via the toolbar but didnt seem to work for me sad.gif i think its only aimed at the media library like said above. so i think that rules faclets out.

@moderators sorry i got confused when posting the topic.

This post has been edited by Streamline2511: Mar 31 2012, 22:26
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Mar 31 2012, 22:39
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2337
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



You are probably correct. Worked for me on a quick test, but all the tracks were also in the media library. By the way, using the library is painless tongue.gif
You would then get to ignore using it as a library browser, if you wish, and use it to browse/ filter your single playlist as I outlined.

This post has been edited by tpijag: Mar 31 2012, 22:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Streamline2511
post Apr 1 2012, 11:49
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 31-March 12
Member No.: 98259



must be a way, reason for asking if i keep changing computers (portable install) having a media lib isnt possible but instead having a few 100s tracks on a different partition of my portable hard drive is. but each computer mouts the partition to different drive letters, so i just found it easier to drag a few tracks into fb2k and would like to sort as i pleased.

thanks all for the help.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
derty2
post Apr 1 2012, 12:43
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 555
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91257



Partition of portable drive has variable drive letter and contains the music data.
Partition of portable drive which contains the music data also contains foobar2000 program files.
User preference is: Portability AT ALL COSTS.
User preference is: Start foobar2000 with all music data loaded and refreshed in the Playlist Viewer
User preference is: Custom sort scheme for the Playlist Viewer

Therefore... start foobar2000 with command-line parameters using a batch file.
The batch file allows you to set the drive letter and the music data location and startup options before foobar2000 launch.
The sort options of the Playlist Viewer never change; it's up to you to go to Preferences and set them.

Would you like an example batch file for launching foobar2000 from a storage device with variable drive letter?

I'm not sure what any of this has got to do with iTunes !! What does "like itunes" mean ??
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
klonuo
post Apr 1 2012, 12:55
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 257
Joined: 29-April 10
Member No.: 80274



QUOTE (Streamline2511 @ Apr 1 2012, 12:49) *
must be a way, reason for asking if i keep changing computers (portable install) having a media lib isnt possible but instead having a few 100s tracks on a different partition of my portable hard drive is. but each computer mouts the partition to different drive letters, so i just found it easier to drag a few tracks into fb2k and would like to sort as i pleased.

thanks all for the help.

AFAIK you can do it with facets - just select playlist scope instead library, as in below screenshot:

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Apr 1 2012, 14:06
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (derty2 @ Apr 1 2012, 12:43) *
I'm not sure what any of this has got to do with iTunes !! What does "like itunes" mean ??

This has quite a lot to do with iTunes, given that the OP is wanting to imitate its Genre, Artist, and Album browsers, as shown in the initial screenshot.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Apr 1 2012, 14:30
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1717
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



One point should be mentioned: facets won't filter the playlist by browsing its content like iTunes but highlight the matching results.

This post has been edited by q-stankovic: Apr 1 2012, 14:32


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2014 - 15:46