IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
BBC Radio 3 320kbps stream
Nordfinn
post Apr 8 2012, 16:48
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



Anyone else here find it gone? I've been listening for about a year, and miss it. I recently reloaded my whole system; I don't think that's the problem, but I can't find any news on the matter, anywhere.

Thanks in advance.
N.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fandango
post Apr 8 2012, 17:24
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1546
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 8353



Isn't 320kbps overkill anyway (unless it's MP2 tongue.gif )?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Apr 8 2012, 17:30
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4326
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



the page here says it's 320kbps. but whether it actually is or not, i don't know because my media player (foobar2000) doesn't show the bitrate

http://www.listenlive.eu/uk.html

edit: the WMA streams display the bitrate just fine but the AAC streams do not

This post has been edited by marc2003: Apr 8 2012, 17:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Apr 8 2012, 18:29
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



Thanks. But this is the stream that has changed. Won't even play on Foobar, because it's at 32,000.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Apr 8 2012, 18:36
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4326
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



QUOTE (Nordfinn @ Apr 8 2012, 18:29) *
because it's at 32,000.


i have no idea what you mean by this. it plays ok for me but then i am in the UK. if you're not, that probably explains it? perhaps they allowed overseas listeners access previously but have since stopped it?

edit: doing some crude measurements using a program called aida64, it's measuring my bandwidth at a constant 42-45KB/s usage while foobar2000 is playing the stream. as there are 8bits per byte i'm guessing that's about right for a 320kbps stream


This post has been edited by marc2003: Apr 8 2012, 18:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Apr 8 2012, 19:12
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



Thanks for looking into it. I am not in the UK, but I used to be able to listen using "Add location" (in Foobar) with the below link:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/listen/live/r6_aaclca.pls

Perhaps I've been listening illegitimately. For about a week or two now, this has not been working. I get this error message:

Unrecoverable playback error: Sample rate of 32000 Hz not supported by this device

This may reflect limitations of my sound card, but the stream has definitely changed. There is also this stream:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/listen/live/r3.asx

It will play, but it is only 49 kbps. Not the same at all. All the BBC radio streams were at least 128 kbps, but not those I am able to access now. Either they are having trouble, or they are trying to quarantine non-Uk listeners.

N

This post has been edited by Nordfinn: Apr 8 2012, 19:22
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Apr 8 2012, 19:37
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4326
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



QUOTE (Nordfinn @ Apr 8 2012, 19:12) *
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/listen/live/r6_aaclca.pls
<snip>
Unrecoverable playback error: Sample rate of 32000 Hz not supported by this device


that shows a samplerate of 44100 for me - and plays fine.





Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nessuno
post Apr 8 2012, 19:43
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 422
Joined: 16-December 10
From: Palermo
Member No.: 86562



Just listening now to BBC Radio 3 from Italy (airing "Words and Music"), with TuneIn Radio on my iPad. They let me choose between a 320kbps and a 48k streams AAC which both work and a 48k WMA which doesn't.

Edit: but, listening carefully, the 320k SQ is way too low and looking at the bandwidth usage of my connection, both choices score about 8kb/s: the 320 is actually a faked 48! Now, what does this mean?

This post has been edited by Nessuno: Apr 8 2012, 20:00


--------------------
... I live by long distance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Apr 8 2012, 19:45
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



Thanks. Strange. And you are listening in Foobar? (I'm using 1.1.12 beta 2). I think I must be being shut out, then (for a non-UK ip address), whereas I wasn't before.

I'm going to miss the programming. But thanks for looking into it.

N.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Apr 8 2012, 19:47
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



Hmm. So perhaps there is a problem on my end after all. Needs looking into. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Vosiley
post Apr 8 2012, 19:52
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-April 12
Member No.: 98551



QUOTE (Nordfinn @ Apr 8 2012, 19:12) *
It will play, but it is only 49 kbps. Not the same at all. All the BBC radio streams were at least 128 kbps, but not those I am able to access now. Either they are having trouble, or they are trying to quarantine non-Uk listeners.

N

Yes, it seems to be a separation to UK- and international listeners.
I'm in Russia, listening Radio6 and my link is bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmedia_intl_lc_6music_q?s=1333898347&e=1333912747&h=59e64c289898d8bae2e30df387df564e, so we can see the phrase "intl" here, unlike marc2003's link.
Quality of the stream: ~56K, 32KHz

This post has been edited by Vosiley: Apr 8 2012, 19:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Apr 8 2012, 20:00
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



Thanks again. Or maybe the distinction is EU and non-EU, since Nessuno has access in Italy (I'm in the US).
N.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nessuno
post Apr 8 2012, 20:15
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 422
Joined: 16-December 10
From: Palermo
Member No.: 86562



QUOTE (Nordfinn @ Apr 8 2012, 21:00) *
Thanks again. Or maybe the distinction is EU and non-EU, since Nessuno has access in Italy (I'm in the US).
N.


I apologize for being too rash: as you can read for the edit I made to my own post, I just realized that in spite of what is diplayed in the stream choice menu, I'm actually able to listen at 48kbps only!
So the distinction is actually between UK and rest of the world.


--------------------
... I live by long distance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Vosiley
post Apr 8 2012, 20:23
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-April 12
Member No.: 98551



QUOTE (Nessuno @ Apr 8 2012, 20:15) *
I apologize for being too rash: as you can read for the edit I made to my own post, I just realized that in spite of what is diplayed in the stream choice menu, I'm actually able to listen at 48kbps only!
So the distinction is actually between UK and rest of the world.

Well, the happiness wasn't long-lasting, they say in Russia wink.gif


BTW, Nordfinn, you can use some resampling plugins in Foobar2000 to playback the new BBC streams.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Apr 8 2012, 20:29
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



Thanks, Vosiley. Which plug-in do you use?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Vosiley
post Apr 8 2012, 20:36
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-April 12
Member No.: 98551



QUOTE (Nordfinn @ Apr 8 2012, 20:29) *
Thanks, Vosiley. Which plug-in do you use?

so, i'm using Foobar2000 0.8.3 and "Secret Rabbit" plugin, but You can use any Foobar2000 with standard included SRC plugin, I think. This needs to be included to Foobar2000 DSP chain.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Apr 8 2012, 21:09
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



thanks much. I'll look into it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Apr 9 2012, 00:49
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 882
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



Daum PotPlayer shows the bit rate. The "320" is AAC LC VBR 64.

This post has been edited by eahm: Apr 9 2012, 00:50
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Apr 9 2012, 13:55
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 4326
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



something else i've noticed today is that the AAC streams go stale after a while. in foobar2000, i'm getting 403 forbidden errors on streams i added yesterday. re-downloading the .pls file works fine so i guess the URL inside changes a bit each time (i haven't compared them as yet)

previously i used the WMA streams and they've been active in my playlists for months.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DoctorO
post Apr 9 2012, 15:16
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 11-April 11
Member No.: 89722



the url is intentionally time limited.

-daz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Apr 9 2012, 15:39
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 4326
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



any idea why? huh.gif i can't see what is to be gained and it just inconveniences the end user.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
insertrealname
post Apr 9 2012, 19:20
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 30-September 10
Member No.: 84228



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Apr 9 2012, 10:39) *
any idea why? :huh: i can't see what is to be gained and it just inconveniences the end user.


Complete newbie speculation here, but perhaps BBC is trying to prevent people from using audio stream recorders on a schedule to record favourite programs--some content may only be licensed for broadcast.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fedot L
post Apr 10 2012, 13:41
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 2-January 10
Member No.: 76586



QUOTE (eahm @ Apr 9 2012, 00:49) *
Daum PotPlayer shows the bit rate. The "320" is AAC LC VBR 64.

Tested it too, playing via VLC having clicked on “BBC Radio 3 National 320 Kbps Classical”.
The spectrum is cut off at 13 kHz. The Windows TaskManager displays ≈70 Kbps.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dinoh
post Apr 10 2012, 16:17
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 10-April 12
Member No.: 98635



New international streams:

BBC Radio 1
LQ WM:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/listen/live/r1.asx

HQ International AAC+ 48kbps 44kHz (SBR!)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_he_radio1_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_he_radio1_q

LQ International AAC+ 56kbps 32kHz (this is really stupid)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_lc_radio1_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_lc_radio1_q

BBC Radio 1xtra

LQ WM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/listen/live/r1x.asx

HQ International AAC+ 48kbps 44kHz (SBR!)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmedia_intl_he_1xtra_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmedia_intl_he_1xtra_q

LQ International AAC+ 56kbps 32kHz (again, this is really stupid)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmedia_intl_lc_1xtra_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmedia_intl_lc_1xtra_q

BBC Radio 2
HQ International AAC+ 48kbps 44kHz (SBR!)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_he_radio2_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_he_radio2_q

LQ International AAC+ 56kbps 32kHz (again, this is really stupid)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_lc_radio2_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_lc_radio2_q

BBC Radio 3
HQ International AAC+ 48kbps 44kHz (SBR!)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_he_radio3_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_he_radio3_q

LQ International AAC+ 56kbps 32kHz (again, this is really stupid)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_lc_radio3_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_lc_radio3_q

BBC Radio 4
HQ International AAC+ 48kbps 44kHz (SBR!)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_he_radio4_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_he_radio4_q

LQ International AAC+ 56kbps 32kHz (again, this is really stupid)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_lc_radio4_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmed...ntl_lc_radio4_q

BBC Radio 5 LIVE
HQ International AAC+ 48kbps 44kHz (SBR!)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmedia_intl_he_5live_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmedia_intl_he_5live_q

LQ International AAC+ 56kbps 32kHz (again, this is really stupid)
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmedia_intl_lc_5live_p
http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmedia_intl_lc_5live_q

This post has been edited by dinoh: Apr 10 2012, 16:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2Bdecided
post Apr 16 2012, 13:16
Post #25


ReplayGain developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 4945
Joined: 5-November 01
From: Yorkshire, UK
Member No.: 409



What happens outside the UK if you connect through the flash-based web pages...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/radio/bbc_rad...hree/listenlive
128kbps AAC inside the UK by default, 48kbps AAC if you select the low bandwidth version (hidden down near the bottom of the page)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio3/hd-sound/
320kbps AAC inside the UK

?

Cheers,
David.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 17:51