IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
When using Equalizer, sound goes up & down erratically
AudioGuy2000
post Apr 26 2012, 20:59
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-April 12
Member No.: 99235



I'm new to Foobar2000 and so far loving it! I'm running it on a laptop and my HTPC, both Windows 7 OS. When I enable th built in equalizer and adjust the settings, the music sounds horrible. It seems to fade in and out automatically as it plays. Kinda like music compressing and de-compressing (reminds me of the old dbx compression, but magnified many times).

This happens on both my laptop and HTPC. Makes the equalizer useless. What am I doing wrong? I don't have any other DSP effects (that I'm aware of).

Foobar components log:

Core (2012-02-04 13:05:48 UTC)
foobar2000 core 1.1.11
foo_albumlist.dll (2012-02-04 13:04:12 UTC)
Album List 4.5
foo_cdda.dll (2012-02-04 13:03:52 UTC)
CD Audio Decoder 3.0
foo_converter.dll (2012-02-04 13:04:00 UTC)
Converter 1.5
foo_dsp_std.dll (2012-02-04 13:04:14 UTC)
Standard DSP Array 1.0
foo_input_std.dll (2012-02-04 13:05:10 UTC)
Standard Input Array 1.0
foo_rgscan.dll (2012-02-04 13:03:48 UTC)
ReplayGain Scanner 2.1.2
foo_ui_std.dll (2012-02-04 13:04:08 UTC)
Default User Interface 0.9.5

Thanks for any suggestions!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Apr 26 2012, 21:48
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5144
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (AudioGuy2000 @ Apr 26 2012, 20:59) *
What am I doing wrong?
Using positive gain somewhere, probably. Generally, don’t do that. It can easily lead to clipping or, perhaps in your case, automatic limiting in hardware or software (i.e. Windows’ mixer). Positive adjustments should only be made if you are sure they will not cause the resulting signal to peak over full-scale, and this is not something that is particularly easy to judge.

Use the button Auto level to automatically adjust all your sliders to avoid this (or start again from zero if you really want).

This post has been edited by db1989: Apr 26 2012, 21:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
css
post May 7 2012, 16:10
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 7-May 12
Member No.: 99578



I have the same issue. It happens with not only the equalizer but many other DSPs, like VST wrapper. I even tried deleting replay gain scanner component, didn't work. I think it's a serious issue in DSP basis
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post May 7 2012, 16:29
Post #4





Group: Developer
Posts: 3209
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=78050
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=84454
...and several other threads
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AudioGuy2000
post May 7 2012, 16:31
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-April 12
Member No.: 99235



Actually, db1989's answer worked for me. I used auto level and the music turned back to normal after equalization. But I did have to turn up the volume quite a bit more. I understand what was happening with too much gain. But I wonder why this was never an issue back in the analog days of using an equalizer.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post May 7 2012, 20:29
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5144
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (AudioGuy2000 @ May 7 2012, 16:31) *
Actually, db1989's answer worked for me. I used auto level and the music turned back to normal after equalization.
Great!

QUOTE
But I wonder why this was never an issue back in the analog days of using an equalizer.
Clipping does not work the same way between the analogue vs. digital realms. What might simply have created louder sound from your speaker in the former may instead push the signal past the upper/lower limit of the digital resolution, cut the wave to a flat top, and create obvious and displeasing broadband distortion. Not to say you couldn’t have distorted or even blown out your analogue equipment with a sufficiently amplified signal, but you can’t expect to be able to compare the two directly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
css
post May 9 2012, 16:21
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 7-May 12
Member No.: 99578



QUOTE (db1989 @ Apr 26 2012, 21:48) *
QUOTE (AudioGuy2000 @ Apr 26 2012, 20:59) *
What am I doing wrong?
Using positive gain somewhere, probably. Generally, don’t do that. It can easily lead to clipping or, perhaps in your case, automatic limiting in hardware or software (i.e. Windows’ mixer). Positive adjustments should only be made if you are sure they will not cause the resulting signal to peak over full-scale, and this is not something that is particularly easy to judge.

Use the button Auto level to automatically adjust all your sliders to avoid this (or start again from zero if you really want).

since I was new to this forum, at first I couldn't see replies!
thanks anyways, yes it was clipping.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 20:03