IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  « < 4 5 6  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Open Source Fraunhofer AAC Encoder (fdk-aac)
nu774
post Nov 4 2013, 03:25
Post #126





Group: Developer
Posts: 476
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



QUOTE (eahm @ Nov 4 2013, 04:43) *
nu774, does Fraunhofer manage multichannel better on fdk than its premium encoder (the one that comes with Winamp/fhgaacenc)?

I don't know. I have no access to it's source code or something.

QUOTE
Also, do we need to keep libfdk-aac-0.dll for anything?

If you are using fdkaac_autobuild, no. FDK library is statically linked to the executable.
DLL is built just in case people want to use it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pulstar
post Nov 6 2013, 05:39
Post #127





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 26-January 10
Member No.: 77550



I'm using FDK now for all SBR encodes.. But I wonder how it stacks against Apple's encoder in terms of LC efficiency at lower bitrates.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halb27
post Dec 15 2013, 15:46
Post #128





Group: Members
Posts: 2414
Joined: 9-October 05
From: Dormagen, Germany
Member No.: 25015



Thank you very much, nu774, for this great automatic fdkaac.exe creating tool.

I got a lot of warnings and -fno-exceptions when compiling. Do I have to care about it?


--------------------
lame3100m --bCVBR 300
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post Dec 15 2013, 17:01
Post #129





Group: Developer
Posts: 476
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



QUOTE (halb27 @ Dec 15 2013, 23:46) *
Thank you very much, nu774, for this great automatic fdkaac.exe creating tool.

I got a lot of warnings and -fno-exceptions when compiling. Do I have to care about it?

Although Makefile in that automatic script is hand-written by me, libfdk-aac is not my project and it's out of my controll, and -fno-exceptions (and -fno-rtti) is specified in upstream Makefile.am anyway
(I guess that's because they want to avoid dependency to libstdc++ and also some of overheads, but I dunno).
In short, I don't care, and you don't have to ... unless something really went wrong when running the encoder, of course.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halb27
post Dec 15 2013, 17:12
Post #130





Group: Members
Posts: 2414
Joined: 9-October 05
From: Dormagen, Germany
Member No.: 25015



Thank you. So I feel fine.


--------------------
lame3100m --bCVBR 300
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lithopsian
post Feb 27 2014, 23:21
Post #131





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 27-February 14
Member No.: 114718



I built this front end on Debian (after writing my own because I wanted input on stdin, not nearly as good as the one from nu774!), also the libraries. Works very well. The Linux build, at least for my architecture, uses shared libraries although nothing else on my system uses them. ffmpeg might I suppose, but I don't use that.

Playing the files through Deadbeef I get a tiny jump between tracks. Deadbeef is known not to play Nero files gapless, although it does play faac files perfectly. The fdk-aac tracks have a much smalled gap than Nero. Audacious plays files encoded with the fdk-aac library just about perfectly (is there the tiniest skip on some tracks?)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  « < 4 5 6
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 13:06