IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
If I type 'Q', jump to artists or songs that start with Q, was: "An INCREDIBLY annoying missing feature that every other pla
zamboni
post Jul 15 2012, 05:30
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 15-July 12
Member No.: 101437



So I downloaded foobar2k because it's slim, simple to use, and easy. My layout is also very slim, I customized it to display only the artist and title. Everything works great, it plays everything, but there's a subtle yet annoying thing it's missing.

Say I go to the player, click on it, and want to play a song by an artist name like 'Queen', if I type 'Q' it doesn't jump to artists nor songs that starts with Q, it just does nothing. It's fine if you have 10 songs, but if you have thousands and feel like listening to a band, you have to scroll, which is pretty annoying IMO.

Can this be fixed? I searched all over preferences and Googled and found nothing.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Jul 15 2012, 10:38
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1244
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



What version of foobar?
In recent versions, playlists have type-find.

If your playlists don't respond to typing, the following may be happening
- the key you pressed coincidentally just happens to be bound already
- type-find doesn't search group headers
- the playlist doesn't have focus.

Alternatively, you can bind a simple key to Playlist Search and start typing there.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
prateek88
post Jul 15 2012, 16:02
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 21-January 12
Member No.: 96605



I am using the latest stable version and what you are expecting is working like charm in my case using the default player.

Album list: selecting group by artist and pressing 'q' is working perfectly, it directly jumping to those artists which starts with 'q'

Playlist Renderer: It works in the default playlist too.

Playlist View : it's too working as u said.

I guess u should provide some more useful info on what actually component you are using(Since it is working in default set of components), to reach to a proper solution.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zamboni
post Jul 15 2012, 16:19
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 15-July 12
Member No.: 101437



Thought I had the latest version, did not, just updated and it works now.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 03:00