IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Copy one field to another only if not empty
Emerelle
post Jul 15 2012, 16:49
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 3-November 11
Member No.: 94918



I just found a very unpleasant feature of foobar. That is copying fields even if they are totally empty. So now I ended up with one tag being mostly filled with a questionmark (empty field I think?). I'd really need some help now to tidy up the mess, and more over, I'd like to know if there is a way to copy one field to the other only if field 1 is not empty, so I do not end up with empty fields.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
prateek88
post Jul 16 2012, 09:35
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 21-January 12
Member No.: 96605



If you are talking about to hide displaying empty fields you can use the [%Field_title_format%]
and there is a way to copy one field to another using third party component using simple title formatting.

hope this helps.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emerelle
post Jul 16 2012, 15:06
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 3-November 11
Member No.: 94918



Thanks for your reply.
I used the normal tf editor that you see from the properties dialogue. I found that a quite powerful tool, but I didnt quite expect it to copy empty (or rather, non-existant) fields onto existing ones. In fact, I copied "unsynced lyrics" over to "lyrics", which resulted in many emptied lyrics fields in the case where there was no unsynced lyrics tag. Oh well, lesson learned.

I could imagine there is a third party editor that lets me do what I intended to do only I dont know which one that could be.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
prateek88
post Jul 16 2012, 16:01
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 21-January 12
Member No.: 96605



I was talking about the Masstagger, but for copying one field to another so that empty fields don't mess with the previously filled fields you could use titleformat query to check if the field isn't empty then only to update, something like $iflonger(s1,s2,then,else).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Jul 16 2012, 18:52
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1823
Joined: 24-July 02
Member No.: 2776



You could search for lyrics MISSING prior to opening the properties.


--------------------
foobar2000.audiohq.de
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emerelle
post Jul 16 2012, 18:57
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 3-November 11
Member No.: 94918



Thank you both prateek and Frank for your suggestions, I see now there are quite a few ways to get this done without losing any field values.

This post has been edited by Emerelle: Jul 16 2012, 18:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2014 - 18:47