IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
Hangings
Incoherent Moron
post Aug 17 2012, 05:29
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 10-August 12
Member No.: 102158



A few weeks ago, Foobar started acting weird. It keeps hanging in the middle of tracks, then resuming a bit later. While it's hanging, the oscilloscope view displays a growing sine wave pattern. Sometimes it only hangs for a fraction of a second, sometimes for many seconds. The longest hang was nearly 30 seconds. No error messages display while this is happening. Any help in fixing this issue would be appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Aug 17 2012, 07:21
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



Check your Power options. A power saving setting like "Turn off Display" may suspend playback.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Aug 17 2012, 12:11
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Please provide more information in accordance with the rules of Support.
3. Make sure you are using the latest version. [i.e. are you?]

4. Describe your problem exactly.
Write in detail what specifically you were trying to do, what you had expected and what happened instead. [i.e. what has or might have changed “[a] few weeks ago”?]

5. Post other helpful information.
That means usually at least your operating system (Windows) version, a list of all your components […] please use codebox tags around the list so that it doesn't make your post unnecessarily long […], contents of the foobar2000 console […] and any other relevant information, like used music file types for decoding/tagging problems, describe your user interface layout for UI problems, [your output method, settings, and so on,] etc.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Incoherent Moron
post Aug 17 2012, 14:53
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 10-August 12
Member No.: 102158



Sorry about that.

The version I have is the most recent stable version (1.1.13), which I upgraded to from 1.1 on the 9th of August. These issues started while I was still using 1.1.

Specifically, what I was trying to do was listen to music, but the player would seize up, display the "expanding wave" in the oscilloscope view, then resume playback sometime after. While the expanding wave is displayed, the player is entirely unresponsive. The only things that happened at around the same time was that I installed Rainmeter and Rocketdock to gussy up my desktop, but even after exiting and removing the programs, the issue persists. It seems more prone to choke on longer songs (Rush's "2112", The Mars Volta's "Cygnus... Vismund Cygnus", Between the Buried and Me's "White Walls", etc.). It's also very unpredictable, sometimes not giving any problems at all, and other times stalling every 5 seconds.

OS is Windows 7 64-bit, the majority of my music library is in FLAC, and my components are:
CODE
foo_albumlist
foo_cdda
foo_converter
foo_ui_std
Core
foo_rgscan
foo_dsp_std
foo_input_std

In addition, I also had these ones before I removed them due to the possibility of them being the problem:
foo_gep (Game Emu Player, plays music files ripped from video games)
foo_audioscrobbler (Last.fm connection)


I'm not entirely sure what the last request entails, but I'm listening through headphones using the Primary Sound Driver device, with a buffer length of 2900ms.

As for the power setting issue, the display is set to shut off after 10 minutes, but if my computer is left alone long enough to have the monitors shut off, then I'm not listening to music anyway.

EDIT: I've just updated to 1.1.14b3, and nothing has changed.

This post has been edited by Incoherent Moron: Aug 17 2012, 14:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Aug 17 2012, 15:14
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Thanks; that’s great. No cause is immediately evident to me, but those with better detective skills will certainly benefit from all that info. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sollniss
post Aug 17 2012, 16:04
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 100
Joined: 12-May 10
Member No.: 80594



I had a similar problem caused by too few RAM. The HDD couldn't keep up with foobar and the track lagged when I was loading a game or something.
How much RAM do you have? Is there I/O while the track is hanging?

This post has been edited by sollniss: Aug 17 2012, 16:04


--------------------
The very act of observing, influences what happens.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Incoherent Moron
post Aug 17 2012, 22:15
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 10-August 12
Member No.: 102158



QUOTE (sollniss @ Aug 17 2012, 17:04) *
I had a similar problem caused by too few RAM. The HDD couldn't keep up with foobar and the track lagged when I was loading a game or something.
How much RAM do you have? Is there I/O while the track is hanging?


I've got 4GB of RAM, which usually doesn't get a load above 60% unless a game is running or I have a lot of tabs open in Chrome. Even when I close out Chrome completely, and my Phys.Mem. usage drops to 30%, it'll still lag at times. Having games running at the same time doesn't seem to have too much of an impact on lag, as I can easily have it and TF2 running at the same time. I don't usually have it running while I'm playing games, though. For the record, Foobar's currently sitting at ~48 000K of memory usage. I'm not sure what you mean by input/output while hanging: how would I go about testing that?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sollniss
post Aug 17 2012, 23:37
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 100
Joined: 12-May 10
Member No.: 80594



Theres noise from the HDD if theres much I/O, but I guess that isn't your problem anyways.

Your best guess would be to try a clean foobar installation and enable your extensions one by one to see if it either isn't a foobar problem at all or which extension is the culprit.


--------------------
The very act of observing, influences what happens.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Incoherent Moron
post Aug 18 2012, 02:39
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 10-August 12
Member No.: 102158



I've done a fresh install, but it keeps stalling. I can't remove any components without causing the player to stop working.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Aug 18 2012, 04:02
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 4499
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I meant remove files from the installation folder's components directory when it's not running.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Incoherent Moron
post Aug 18 2012, 05:24
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 10-August 12
Member No.: 102158



I can remove all of them except foo_input_std and foo_ui_std without it crashing, and it keeps stalling.

Edit: I was thinking there might be some correlation between the seizing and the song's bitrate, but "2112" is 896kbps, and has infrequent stalls, "Cygnus... Vismund Cygnus" is 2986kbps and is entirely unlistenable, but my most recent listen through of "White Walls" at 1006kbps was flawless.

Edit2: Nevermind, White Walls started choking Foobar again. Maybe it is the bitrates?

Edit3: I don't know if it is the bitrates, because a regular 320 MP3 started choking Foobar now.

This post has been edited by Incoherent Moron: Aug 18 2012, 05:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Aug 18 2012, 09:06
Post #12





Group: Developer
Posts: 3208
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Hardware HDD problems?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Aug 18 2012, 09:27
Post #13





Group: Admin
Posts: 4499
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



See what thread is choking it with Process Explorer and maybe find out where it's stalling from the thread stack trace?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Incoherent Moron
post Aug 18 2012, 11:24
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 10-August 12
Member No.: 102158



Problem solved: my hard drive is damaged and has a bunch of bad sectors. It's not a problem with foobar at all. Sorry, folks. This can be closed up, deleted, whatever. Thanks for your assistance with this matter, in any case.

This post has been edited by Incoherent Moron: Aug 18 2012, 11:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 12:07