IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
UPnP MediaRenderer output | discussion, New component | requires foobar2000 v1.2 beta
Peter
post Dec 17 2012, 14:11
Post #1





Group: Admin
Posts: 3269
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



Description:
This component presents any UPnP MediaRenderer devices present on your home network as foobar2000 output devices.

Link:
http://www.foobar2000.org/components/view/foo_out_upnp

Successfully tested so far with:
* Linn DS players
* Samsung TV
* WDTV [limited success, WDTV firmware is extremely buggy]
* BubbleUPnP
* foo_upnp
* dBpowramp uPlayer

Tested unsuccessfully:
* Windows Media Player's renderer [doesn't work - attempts to preload whole LPCM stream?]

Update (beta 2):
* Better error message when attempting to run on pre-1.2 fb2k
* Prevented the component from running on Windows XP (where it crashes due to Windows XP bugs)
* No functional changes
Update (beta 3):
* Fixed rare random crash when shutting down.
* No functional changes.
Update (beta 4)
* Now compatible with Windows XP
* Option to log debug information to foobar2000 console
* Improved compatibility with specific renderers
* Now sets title of the stream (but no actual song titles)

Incompatibility with various devices will be addressed in later updates.

This post has been edited by Peter: Jan 30 2013, 17:42


--------------------
This job would be great if it wasn't for the users.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Dec 17 2012, 14:40
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



Great, just testing it with some devices. Looks like it's limited to stereo for the moment (it might also be a limitation of my Yamaha RX-V3067). Will it have some bells and whistles, like enumerating target capabilities? Does it have a settings dialogue yet? Couldn't find anything.

This post has been edited by Sandrine: Dec 17 2012, 14:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BenB
post Dec 17 2012, 16:29
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 621
Joined: 17-April 12
Member No.: 98921



QUOTE (Peter @ Dec 17 2012, 08:11) *
This component presents any UPnP MediaRenderer devices present on your home network as foobar2000 output devices.
QUOTE (Sandrine @ Dec 17 2012, 08:40) *

Couldn't find anything.


If there are any that it "sees", you will find them at:

Preferences > Playback > Output > Device

or shift-click on

Playback > Device

EDIT:

BTW, I'm not addressing this to you, Sandrine. This is for those who are scratching their heads and wondering where to find what the component does tongue.gif . I didn't find any settings in regard to the component either.

This post has been edited by BenB: Dec 17 2012, 16:47
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
joedimagio
post Dec 17 2012, 22:32
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 4-May 11
Member No.: 90316



Hi Peter,

I was excited when I saw the UPnP MediaRenderer output component. I updated my Foobar2000 to version 1.2 beta 1 and I installed the UPnP MediaRenderer output component using the Preferences > Install and Apply buttons.

I turned on my Samsung C TV and eventually I saw TV-46C6400 show up in the Output Device drop down. I selected it and clicked the Apply and OK buttons.

Then I put a song in the active playlist and clicked the Play button. I got a "Playback error" popup window with the following text "Unrecoverable playback error: UPnP device error: No contents".

From what I have described, can you help understand what I have not done correctly so that I can get it working?

Just for information, the Samsung TV is on an ethernet cable not wi-fi.

Thanks,
Rob

This post has been edited by joedimagio: Dec 17 2012, 22:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Dec 17 2012, 22:43
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



@joedimagico

You may have to set your Samsung TV to a special input regardless. I have to switch my Receiver to "NET/PC" for it to be able to be controlled.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emerelle
post Dec 17 2012, 23:04
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 3-November 11
Member No.: 94918



I received an internal error upon install - had to remove it in safe mode in order to get foobar running again.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
akispavlopoulos
post Dec 17 2012, 23:09
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 3-August 08
Member No.: 56649



It doesn't work on LG LM620 smart tv(2012 model). It sees my tv, I select it, but when I choose a file to play (mp3) it says "Unrecoverable playback error: UPnP device error: Transition not available".
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emerelle
post Dec 17 2012, 23:26
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 3-November 11
Member No.: 94918



Ok, my mistake - after upgrading to the latest beta it works. Sorry for that.
My device is listed, but due to the late hour I cannot test it right away tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
a3aan
post Dec 17 2012, 23:27
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 79
Joined: 23-December 06
Member No.: 38930



Nice. Works on my Philips TV.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rowi
post Dec 18 2012, 00:01
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 17-December 12
Member No.: 105236



QUOTE (Peter @ Dec 17 2012, 14:11) *
Tested unsuccessfully:
* Windows Media Player's renderer [doesn't work - attempts to preload whole LPCM stream?]


The same with the Onkyo TX-8050 Receiver, after pressing the Play Button sounds only a white Noise and the networkstack in the receiver crashed...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
joedimagio
post Dec 18 2012, 17:55
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 4-May 11
Member No.: 90316



@ Sandrine: Thanks for your suggestion. I tried all different modes with the same results, then I took a walk for a for couple of hours and came back. When I clicked the dropdown my TV showed up so I selected it and played something and it worked. I don't know what the magic bullet is...yet.

@ All: I am trying to use this component and TouchRemote DACP server for Foobar so that I can control what music is being played with my iPad and have the music played on my Samsung TV. The TouchRemote DACP server for Foobar lets the Apple Remote app on my iPad see and control Foobar and the UPnP MediaRenderer output enables Foobar push the music to my Samsung TV.

To this end, I have been able to do this successfully, but it takes several taps on the song in the Remote app before it plays successfully when I just choose songs manually one after another. The error message in the popup window is "Unrecoverable playback error: UPnP device error: network error". I suspect that a playlist would play songs just fine.

As you can see by my comment to Sandrine, I have yet to have consistent success. I want be clear I am NOT complaining about the component, I am overjoyed that Peter has created it. I am looking for tips and things I should consider to make my "Frankenstein" work consistently and as well as possible.


Rob

This post has been edited by joedimagio: Dec 18 2012, 18:26
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tominffm
post Dec 18 2012, 23:00
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 18-December 12
Member No.: 105257



works wunderful with a denon dnp-720ae network player with windows 8, both renderer and media server. no comparison to wmp.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emerelle
post Dec 18 2012, 23:34
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 3-November 11
Member No.: 94918



Does not work with my WDTV (latest firmware). Bummer.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Midiman
post Dec 19 2012, 08:32
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 6-April 12
Member No.: 98463



Some testing I have done:

UPnP Renderer - foo_upnp 0.99.40 - sending AND streaming to:

foobar2000 - foo_upnp 0.00.40 - renderer can send FLAC or MP3 - can also use Playback Stream Capture(PSC) with FLAC or MP3
JRiver Media Centre 17 - renderer can send FLAC or MP3 - will accept MP3 or FLAC as PSC
XBMC 11.0 - renderer can send FLAC or MP3 - will only accept MP3 as PSC

foobar2000 1.2 beta1 - streaming to:

foobar2000 - foo_upnp 0.99.40 - accepts FLAC or MP3 - receiver always says STREAM ? 44100 KHz
JRiver Media Centre 17 - does not work
XBMC 11.0 - does not work

Thus, it appears that the new UPnP component is streaming only - and there is no way to tell it to stream MP3 for those devices which cannot handle FLAC/WAV? I am guessing here - based on what works and does not ;-) Speaking personally, I think that streaming as opposed to sending files across the network is the preferred option as this is the only way to support "gapless playback".

foo_upnp 0.99.40 has the option to stream FLAC/WAV as MP3 - and this seems to work fine. Peter, do you think it might be a good idea to allow your new component to do this?

Mike

PS Thanks for writing this new component


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BrainDedd
post Dec 19 2012, 13:01
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 19-December 12
Member No.: 105271



Hey all ... got this showing my Galaxy S3 via Bubble, but when I play files nothing happens? Am I missing something?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
meDveD.spb
post Dec 19 2012, 17:17
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 4-April 07
Member No.: 42192



win7 64 sp1 + foobar2000 v1.2 beta 2 + foo_upnp-0.99.41+ UPnP-Output

after every restart an error:
Failed to load DLL: foo_run.dll
Failed to load DLL: foo_input_monkey.dll
...
each time the different plugin

win7 64 sp1 + foobar2000 v1.2 beta 2 + foo_upnp-0.99.41:
no errors

win7 64 sp1 + foobar2000 v1.2 beta 2 + UPnP-Output:
no errors

This post has been edited by meDveD.spb: Dec 19 2012, 17:22
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sld
post Dec 19 2012, 19:28
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 1015
Joined: 4-March 03
From: Singapore
Member No.: 5312



QUOTE (BrainDedd @ Dec 19 2012, 20:01) *
Hey all ... got this showing my Galaxy S3 via Bubble, but when I play files nothing happens? Am I missing something?

Create a Homegroup and specifically allow the S3 under devices.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shelbster
post Dec 20 2012, 05:12
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 20-December 12
Member No.: 105285



It does not see the Yamaha RX-V473 Networked Receiver which works with Windows Media Player perfectly. I'd like to use foobar - Why isn't it working? HELP!

I have windows 7 with home theatre networked in. components properly plugged in.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
duddie
post Dec 20 2012, 14:19
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 20-December 12
Member No.: 105286



Hi,

I have self made embedded linux box that acts as my DLNA client in my living room. When I discovered your plugin I wanted to add media renderer capability by utilizing this: http://gmrender.nongnu.org/ unfortunatelly I get XML response error. Can you look at this or maybe you can open source code for your component because I am willing to contribute.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mtr
post Dec 21 2012, 12:54
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 20-December 12
Member No.: 105297



Peter,if you ever get this to work on the Samsung SMT-G7400 (UPC Horizon mediabox) I know a lot of people will be very exited. So far I haven't had any luck getting it detected as an output device, but will have time to do more testing after Xmas.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lurker
post Dec 23 2012, 09:58
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 22-December 12
Member No.: 105338



Peter, as a WinXP user, I'm curious: which bug prevents you to keep compatibility with WinXP. I'm a programmer, and I hope I can understand the tech details wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
savantique
post Dec 23 2012, 18:59
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 7-April 12
Member No.: 98497



So just so we're clear, this cannot be used to stream music to an Xbox 360?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bsauvage
post Dec 24 2012, 10:40
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 13-December 12
Member No.: 105149



Peter, I tried this and my OPPO BDP-105 player is not seen as a renderer (while it is perfectly seen by the uPnP controller window and the stream playback is fine).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ppienter
post Dec 24 2012, 21:48
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 27-December 11
Member No.: 96068



This is a fantastic plug-in ! I would love to control foobar with my iPad streaming to my UPnP devices !

I tried the plug-in with Windows 7 and foobar 1.2 beta 2 with a Denon AVR-4311 and a Marantz CR-602 but in both cases I get following error :
"Unrecoverable playback error: UPnP device error: invalid server response"

Though both devices are recognized.

Also, Is there a possibility to add some transcoding options ?
e.g. downsample to 24bit/96kHz for HD Audio and transcode ALAC to WAV or FLAC

Thanks upfront!

This post has been edited by ppienter: Dec 24 2012, 21:50
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Midiman
post Dec 24 2012, 23:22
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 6-April 12
Member No.: 98463



For those with problems such as "does not work" - can I suggest that you try the foo_upnp component?

http://www.foobar2000.org/components/view/foo_upnp

This component has a gazillion options and individual options for different upnp clients. If you experiment with this component you will discover what works and what does not with your upnp client. Then you will be able to provide better information for problem diagnosis. As I said earlier, Peter's component appears to be streaming only - and maybe your client does not support this?

PS As requested above - foo_upnp does support transcoding.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2014 - 17:56