Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Musepack.org
Hydrogenaudio Forums > Lossy Audio Compression > MPC
spase
Has anyone seen musepack.org lately?

MUSEPACK.ORG IS NO LONGER SAFE FOR THE OFFICE

This is awful.

I dont suppose you can get it removed because of copyright or something?

Maybe defamation or lible?
indybrett
How about a "Not Safe for the Office" warning.
spase
QUOTE(indybrett @ Feb 25 2004, 01:02 PM)
How about a "Not Safe for the Office" warning.

oops sorry.

I'm just very upset that's all.

I kinda feel like it's my fault?

Also I am still a student, so such things don't usually cross my mind.

My apologies.
Big95
That sucks, is anything to do to remove that site?
I'm a also very upset... mad.gif.....or angry!
p0l1m0rph1c
ohmy.gif blink.gif crying.gif mad.gif mad.gif
music_man_mpc
ohmy.gif . . . blink.gif . . . mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

Stupid pr0n. Why would they want musepack.org as a pr0n site???headbang.gif headbang.gif
spase
probably because it used to get a lot of hits?
indybrett
(Numbers removed)

I'm not suggesting that people flood this number, subscribe the email account to millions of SPAM lists, or anything like that. Probably fake anyway...
ChristianHJW
QUOTE(indybrett @ Feb 25 2004, 07:41 PM)
Admin Phone:+1.5122480021
Admin Email:625domains@powerpipe.com

I'm not suggesting that people flood this number, subscribe the email account to millions of SPAM lists, or anything like that. Probably fake anyway...

STOP !! This is NOT the new owner of musepack.org, just the registrar !!

The new owner is a guy called Alexej Efimov ( atrius@system13.net ), and i contacted them already, but got no reply yet.

This site here is the only one that is up-to-date with the new owner already : http://www.enom.com/domains/whois.asp
DAvenger
Who was the previous owner? unsure.gif
lucpes
QUOTE(DAvenger @ Feb 25 2004, 10:02 PM)
Who was the previous owner?  unsure.gif

Spase AFAIK, he opened this topic.
spase
QUOTE(lucpes @ Feb 25 2004, 05:17 PM)
QUOTE(DAvenger @ Feb 25 2004, 10:02 PM)
Who was the previous owner?  unsure.gif

Spase AFAIK, he opened this topic.

yeap.

sorry guys i forgot to renew the domain and apparently someone beat me to it.

i hate the DNS system.
Garf
You should kill your registrar for not warning you in advance.
rjamorim
QUOTE(spase @ Feb 26 2004, 03:39 AM)
I hate the DNS system.

The system works quite well, thank-you.

The blame is either on your registrar (like Garf mentioned) for not warning that your domain was about to expire, or on you, for ignoring their e-mail or changing your e-mail adress and forgetting to update it at the registrar database.

Considering most registrars warn in quite some advance, and several times (since they definitely want to keep you as client), my guess is that the blame is on you.
spase
QUOTE(rjamorim @ Feb 26 2004, 02:08 AM)
QUOTE(spase @ Feb 26 2004, 03:39 AM)
I hate the DNS system.

The system works quite well, thank-you.

The blame is either on your registrar (like Garf mentioned) for not warning that your domain was about to expire, or on you, for ignoring their e-mail or changing your e-mail adress and forgetting to update it at the registrar database.

Considering most registrars warn in quite some advance, and several times (since they definitely want to keep you as client), my guess is that the blame is on you.

Blame is on me.

Although to be fair, it appears the emails were sent as I was moving into my new apartment, and I was without computer for about a week or so (and without disposable income for a little longer than a week).

@rj: DNS system is kinda bork, but not as bad as other standards (like the way email works) so i can live with it.
spase
On a seperate note, maybe musepack.net would be willing to be used for whatever you wanted musepack.org for.

Also it seems musepack.info is available.

Maybe I will buy it.
Cey
QUOTE(rjamorim @ Feb 25 2004, 11:08 PM)
The blame is either on your registrar (like Garf mentioned) for not warning that your domain was about to expire, or on you, for ignoring their e-mail or changing your e-mail adress and forgetting to update it at the registrar database.

It could also be due to spam filters.

I almost lost one of my domains because the email notices the registrar claimed they sent never arrived in my email box.

They claimed they had been notifying me for almost two months, but I'm not so sure. They ended up blaiming the spam filters.

It is true the spam filters tend to be over agressive at times, so maybe they were telling the truth.

Fred Langa recently did an experiment to see how reliable the email system was. The results were frightening. 40% failure rate. LangaReport

I wonder if digitally signed emails are any more reliable.
spase
that's a scary thought.

I send a lot of emails that are quite important.
ChristianHJW
I am in contact with the owner of

musepack.net

a german guy called martin Spüler. I asked him if he would sell me the domaine, but he doesnt want to. On the other hand, he offered to 'lend' us the domaine, but i wont do that, for obvious reasons.
MugFunky
AARGH! another hijacking victim!

like anybody looking for the current status of musepack is going to get a pr0n site, and then think "yeah, why the hell not? i've got a credit card, and dammit, i like hentai"

madness. they only do it because they can.

@ spase:
it's possible that if you ever do get a reply from the hijacker, he'll ask an unreasonable amount of money for the domain. probably make more from 1 lousy domain sale then anybody actually buying pr0n off them.
ChristianHJW
Good news !! With some luck Martin Spüler will soon be a new team member and manager the musepack.net web/mailforwarding ( via zoneedit ), while Frank, CiTay or myself will be the owner of the rights for the domaine.

It seems that martin is a very nice guy and a strong MPC supporter, he even wrote a frontend for the MPC encoder. His only problems was that he wants to keep the email adresses he has for musepack.net, which is no problem for me at all, as well as a webforward to his frontend, and a link from the official MPC homepage.

So, with some luck, expect that musepack.net will be the official MPC homepage soon .....
verloren
As reported on slashdot (http://yro.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=04/02/27/1859254&mode=thread) it sounds like this would break the Federal Truth in Domain Names Act, so perhaps a call to the FBI might be in order - it might free up the domain so you could regain ownership.

Cheers, Paul
spase
@paul: this is very interesting, althought I don't have time for lawsuits really... Maybe someone else does?

@ChristianHJW: it is unfortunate you did not buy musepack.org from me as you said you were going to...

@MugFunky: I am not really in contact with the hijacker at all. I don't have time.
jcoalson
what was the old IP address? at least we can use that until there's a new domain.

Josh
spase
QUOTE(jcoalson @ Feb 29 2004, 11:26 PM)
what was the old IP address?  at least we can use that until there's a new domain.

Josh

AFAIK there was no page at the address. (it was my page and I lost interest in the long period of inactivity and lack of news and uselessness of rehashing all the old guides.)
Michael Jordan
Thank you !
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.