Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Comparing MPC and OGG at same bitrate (Read 7799 times) previous topic - next topic

Comparing MPC and OGG at same bitrate

Ok I'm a little new to these codecs but i've been experimenting alot with vorbis and mpc.
My question for everyone is which is better...:confused:

MPC using the standard settings
or
Ogg Vorbis using a -q 5.25

When i mean better i'm talking pure sound quality.

I get around the same files sizes (approx 170 kbps) and my ears can't tell the difference right now but I'm in the process of building speakers and pricing  recievers so I'll probably be able to tell the difference down the road.

Please try to be impartial to your favorite codec, but i don't need an explanation as to why you think what you do, and try to base your answer specifically on sound quality not any other basis.

Thanks alot!

Reply #1
If you're talking pure quality and nothing else, MPC is currently still the way to go. I base this on my experience with listening to both codecs, and the fact that most people I think capable of doing decent listening tests agree.

but I'm in the process of building speakers and pricing recievers so I'll probably be able to tell the difference down the road. 

But this is a misconception. Hearing artifacts has very little to do with your equipment, but with training and physical abilities. If you don't hear difference on your current equipment, you likely aren't going to hear anything wrong on the new one either.