Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: how to encode mp3 to mp4 w/o losing quality (Read 8943 times) previous topic - next topic

how to encode mp3 to mp4 w/o losing quality

Hello all..

I am fairly new to aac/mp4/m4a stuff. Here's my problem, I have 128 - 192 kbps mp3 songs that i use on my old mp3 player. Now, I have currently acquired a new music phone, Sony Ericsson w810i which plays mp3 and mp4/m4a(which are just the same, right). The phone only has a maximum memory of 1gb so i would want to compress my mp3's to mp4(or m4a depends on what is best to be used) so that iwould end up in a much smaller file size without sacrificing sound quality. I am very new to these that no matter what i read out there, i just get confused more and more each time.

I would like to know which program would be best used for these. and at what bitrates I need to encode them to not lose sound quality. I have also researched about a certain codec from Coding Technologies:

http://www.codingtechnologies.com/products/aacPlus.htm

It says there that I can encode cd quality sound at 48kbps and that is just what I want. Can anyone pls help me with this. I would also know if my cellphone could play files that is encoded with this codec.

Pls. also suggest programs that I need to use. Free programs are my priority but bought programs are also considerable depending on the price. Any help would be grreatly appreciated..

Thanks

Reply #1