Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Line-in (Read 4779 times) previous topic - next topic

Line-in

I am a newbie trying to record from my MD to HD to CD.  On the hard drive I would like to capture the MD files through line-in into a lossless file format as the intermediate step to copying the files to a CD.  These are live music recordings and I would like to keep them as pristine as possible.  Yes, I know ATRAC is not the world's best recoding format.  I just do not want to degrade it more.

TIA
Nov schmoz kapop.

Line-in

Reply #1
Just record it into WAVE format which is also lossless.
However, you should be aware, that even though the minidisc format is digital and compressed, there will still be additional loss, as recording through line-in includes having the minidisc player outputting an analouge signal to your minijack cable, which goes into your soundcard.
So basicly you're recording goes like that.

LIVE-Performance >
eventual amplification or equalisation >
Digital WAVE-synthesis generated >
ATRAC3 compression performed >
ATRAC3 decompression performed >
Eventual amplification, equalisation or add of 3D effects DSP's or similar >
Analogue signal generated and send through analouge cable >
Another Digital WAVE-synthesis generated >
Eventual amplification, equalisation or add of 3D effect DSP's or similar >
Final WAVE-file ready !

Once you've recorded it, you can always encode to FLAC or Monkeys which will generate no further loss or affection, or encode it to OGG Vorbis, MP3 or MPC which will generate additional loss.