IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
-V n (in 3.95.1), Presets, bitrates and lowpass of V value
Vietwoojagig
post Jan 29 2004, 11:38
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 28-November 02
From: Germany, Trier
Member No.: 3916



Hi,
CODE
Switch            equals               target  Y  b  lowpass resample
-V 0            = --preset extreme       240     128  19500
-V 0 --vbr-new  = --preset fast extreme  240     128  19500
-V 1                                     210     128  19000
-V 1 --vbr-new                           210     128  19000
-V 2            = --preset standard      190     128  19000
-V 2 --vbr-new  = --preset fast standard    190     128  19000
-V 3                                     175   1      18000
-V 3 --vbr-new                           175   1      18000
-V 4            = --preset medium        165   1      18000
-V 4 --vbr-new  = --preset fast medium   165   1      18000
-V 5                                     130   1      17000
-V 5 --vbr-new                           130   1      17000
-V 6                                     115   1      16000
-V 6 --vbr-new                           115   1      16000
-V 7                                     100   1      14900   32000
-V 7 --vbr-new                           100   1      14900   32000
-V 8                                      85   1      12500   32000
-V 8 - vbr-new                            85   1      12500   32000
-V 9                                      65   1      10000   24000
-V 9 - vbr-new                            65   1      10000   24000


Questions:
1. Is it save to use the -V switches, with no corresponding preset (especially V 1 / V3)?
2. When is it more usefull, to use abr rather than -V n (e.g. --preset 120 better than -V 5)?
3. Are the displayed target average bitrates ok (+/- 10 kbps)?

Thanks

Edit: changed with Gabriel's suggestions. Added:-Y, -b, --lowpass, --resample
Edit: modified -b to fit with 3.96
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gabriel
post Jan 29 2004, 12:11
Post #2


LAME developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 2950
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Nanterre, France
Member No.: 138



Nice layout.

QUOTE
3. Are the displayed target average bitrates ok (+/- 10 kbps)?

I'd say:
V2 - 190
V3 - 175
V4 - 165
V5 - 130
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dologan
post May 5 2004, 00:35
Post #3





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 478
Joined: 22-November 01
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 519



Is --r3mix still remapped to -V3 --vbr-new in 3.96 final?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gabriel
post May 5 2004, 08:53
Post #4


LAME developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 2950
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Nanterre, France
Member No.: 138



QUOTE
Is --r3mix still remapped to -V3 --vbr-new in 3.96 final?

Yes
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Schinkentoni
post May 5 2004, 10:05
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 100
Joined: 8-February 02
Member No.: 1288



I just want to pick up the first question of Vietwoojagig:

Is it save to use the -V switches, with no corresponding preset (especially V 1 / V3)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2Bdecided
post May 5 2004, 11:02
Post #6


ReplayGain developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 4945
Joined: 5-November 01
From: Yorkshire, UK
Member No.: 409



The word you're looking for is safe, not save!

safe=not dangerous
save=keep or store

Don't flame me - I'm used to people with English as a second language at work getting irritated if I don't help them. Accepting that, with any language other than English I'm beyond help myself, so any help I give certainly isn't meant as criticism!

Sorry I can't answer the actual question! I guess that V1 can't be worse than V2, and V3 can't be worse than V4, so they're worth a try.

Cheers,
David.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Vietwoojagig
post May 5 2004, 11:42
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 28-November 02
From: Germany, Trier
Member No.: 3916



QUOTE (2Bdecided @ May 5 2004, 11:02 AM)
The word you're looking for is safe, not save!

safe=not dangerous
save=keep or store

Don't flame me - I'm used to people with English as a second language at work getting irritated if I don't help them. Accepting that, with any language other than English I'm beyond help myself, so any help I give certainly isn't meant as criticism!

Oh dear, shame on me. Of course I know the difference between save and safe. But sometimes I don't see the mistakes, even if you would nail them on my head. lalala.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Halcyon
post May 5 2004, 14:15
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 244
Joined: 6-November 01
Member No.: 416



Vietwoojagig,

don't worry. It's just a sign of your lingual mind starting to think phonetically. It's just transitioning from one set of phonemic transcription to another.

I make mistakes like that all the time. I wrote much better English when I knew and used it much less.

These days I'm bi-lingually handicapped. Sometimes I can't express myself properly in my native tongue (or my second native tongue), but English works out ok. Then again, often I think in Finnish and my English comes out really broken.

So, you're actually just advancing smile.gif

And compared to the average American... don't even get me started smile.gif

As for your questions, I don't think there is enough data to conclude 1) yet (at least I haven't found the answer). Well, I'm using -V switches on 3.96, based on some preliminary findings, but no conclusive data is available yet (?).

As for 2) and 3) I'm also interested. Perhaps the developers are the best ones to answer this, if they have time/interest.

cheers,
halcyon

PS It's an odd thing with English speaking natives: they complain when you try to speak their language and they complain when you don't. Nothing's ever good enough. And my God, what happens if you err on the side of correcting their English? A war breaks out, that's what happens ;-D

This post has been edited by Halcyon: May 5 2004, 14:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dologan
post May 5 2004, 15:22
Post #9





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 478
Joined: 22-November 01
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 519



QUOTE (Gabriel @ May 5 2004, 01:53 AM)
QUOTE
Is --r3mix still remapped to -V3 --vbr-new in 3.96 final?

Yes

QUOTE (2Bdecided)
Sorry I can't answer the actual question! I guess that V1 can't be worse than V2, and V3 can't be worse than V4, so they're worth a try.

Well, considering the outdated nature of --r3mix and --preset medium being more recent and based off the proven --aps, I wouldn't be too surprised if -V4 (--vbr-any) could actually be better than -V3 --vbr-new, despite the lower bitrate. The question would be whether -V3 (--vbr-old) has more to do with --r3mix or with --aps -Y?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Vietwoojagig
post May 5 2004, 15:41
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 28-November 02
From: Germany, Trier
Member No.: 3916



QUOTE (Dologan @ May 5 2004, 03:22 PM)
Well, considering the outdated nature of --r3mix and --preset medium being more recent and based off the proven --aps, I wouldn't be too surprised if -V4 (--vbr-any) could actually be better than -V3 --vbr-new, despite the lower bitrate. The question would be whether -V3 (--vbr-old) has more to do with --r3mix or with --aps -Y?

Only the name "--r3mix" is mapped to"-V3" and not "-V3" with the outdated code. So I'm quite sure that that V0 > V1 > V2 > V3 > V4 > ... > V9.

As I understand it, the names "r3mix", "preset medium", "preset standard", "preset extreme" are only mapped to V-switches for compatibilty reasons.

In future, I will only use the V-switches, knowing, that V2 is the setting for transparency.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dologan
post May 5 2004, 16:19
Post #11





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 478
Joined: 22-November 01
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 519



QUOTE (Vietwoojagig @ May 5 2004, 08:41 AM)
Only the name "--r3mix" is mapped to"-V3" and not "-V3" with the outdated code. So I'm quite sure that that  V0 > V1 > V2 > V3 > V4 > ... > V9.

As I understand it, the names "r3mix", "preset medium", "preset standard", "preset extreme" are only mapped to V-switches for compatibilty reasons.

huh.gif From what I had understood, the -Vx now equal the --preset they are mapped with. So -V2 is the same as --preset standard and, under the same logic, -V3 --vbr-new would be --r3mix. Now you are telling me then that --r3mix is no longer --r3mix, but -V3 --vbr-new (whatever that is). Is this right? Has --r3mix been reduced to merely a symbolic link pointing to something entirely different?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Vietwoojagig
post May 5 2004, 16:24
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 28-November 02
From: Germany, Trier
Member No.: 3916



QUOTE (Dologan @ May 5 2004, 04:19 PM)
huh.gif From what I had understood, the -Vx now equal the --preset they are mapped with. So -V2 is the same as --preset standard and, under the same logic, -V3 --vbr-new would be --r3mix. Now you are telling me then that --r3mix is no longer --r3mix, but -V3 --vbr-new (whatever that is). Is this right? Has --r3mix been reduced to merely a symbolic link pointing to something entirely different?

Yes
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tomb
post May 5 2004, 16:33
Post #13





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 149
Joined: 10-August 02
Member No.: 3011



QUOTE (Halcyon @ May 5 2004, 01:15 PM)
PS It's an odd thing with English speaking natives: they complain when you try to speak their language and they complain when you don't. Nothing's ever good enough. And my God, what happens if you err on the side of correcting their English? A war breaks out, that's what happens ;-D

I say by jove. Steady on old boy, what. Correcting the Queens - now that would be damn foolish move old bean. Spiffing what and pass the Pimms and Gordons.

PS. Yes I am English and even worse, a Cockney wink.gif

Talk Cockney here or here!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dologan
post May 5 2004, 17:07
Post #14





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 478
Joined: 22-November 01
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 519



QUOTE (Vietwoojagig @ May 5 2004, 09:24 AM)
QUOTE (Dologan @ May 5 2004, 04:19 PM)
huh.gif From what I had understood, the -Vx now equal the --preset they are mapped with. So -V2 is the same as --preset standard and, under the same logic, -V3 --vbr-new would be --r3mix. Now you are telling me then that --r3mix is no longer --r3mix, but -V3 --vbr-new (whatever that is). Is this right? Has --r3mix been reduced to merely a symbolic link pointing to something entirely different?

Yes

Hmm... Interesting.
Gabriel, could you please confirm this? Or Vietwoojagig, could you show me where you know this from? Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gabriel
post May 5 2004, 17:38
Post #15


LAME developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 2950
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Nanterre, France
Member No.: 138



QUOTE
Gabriel, could you please confirm this?

Yes
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jebus
post May 5 2004, 19:16
Post #16





Group: Developer
Posts: 1289
Joined: 17-March 03
From: Calgary, AB
Member No.: 5541



Wow, that is really interesting. So the --r3mix tunings are really gone now (finally!) and all that remains is the name. This is truely significant!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Squeller
post May 24 2004, 12:02
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



QUOTE (Vietwoojagig @ Jan 29 2004, 02:38 AM)
2. When is it more usefull, to use abr rather than -V n (e.g. --preset 120 better than -V 5)?

I'd be interested in the answer to this question, too. No one has an idea?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shafff
post Jun 24 2004, 18:56
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 27-May 03
From: Kiev, Ukraine
Member No.: 6844



-V2 (lame 3.95.1) gives me 141kbps on film track (pianist, russian translation). Double speed on 2.4 ghz
i'll do -V4 (lame 3.97alpha) this week-end on english track (in hope that picture quality will be better; using xvid).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
westgroveg
post Jul 4 2004, 02:20
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 1235
Joined: 5-October 01
Member No.: 220



Does LAME 3.96, -V2/--preset standard still use -b 128?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Vietwoojagig
post Jul 7 2004, 10:29
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 28-November 02
From: Germany, Trier
Member No.: 3916



QUOTE (westgroveg @ Jul 4 2004, 02:20 AM)
Does LAME 3.96, -V2/--preset standard still use -b 128?

Yes. -b 96 did not work on some samples as desired.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gabriel
post Aug 4 2004, 08:43
Post #21


LAME developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 2950
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Nanterre, France
Member No.: 138



Regarding "target bitrates" related to -V x, I'd like to point to this:
http://lame.sourceforge.net/lame_ui_example.html

In this sample UI, you can visually see the usual bitrate range of the different -V x levels
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
384kbps
post Aug 25 2004, 19:58
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 19-April 03
Member No.: 6057



QUOTE (Schinkentoni @ May 5 2004, 10:05 AM)
I just want to pick up the first question of Vietwoojagig:

Is it save to use the -V switches, with no corresponding preset (especially V 1 / V3)?
*

I have learned till now the difference between 'save' and 'safe' wink.gif, but i still can't see here any clear answer on the question above, sorry.

So if I use "Lame.exe -V1 input.wav output.mp3"...
- ...will that produce smaller preset extreme mp3 files by using the 'extreme' maskings/shapings/modells but only a bit more aggressive?
- ...or will that produce bigger preset standard mp3 files by using the maskings/shapings/modells of preset standard but only a bit more gentle?
- ...or will '-V1' and '-V3' work beyond every well-tested preset?

Thanks for my enlightenment!

This post has been edited by 384kbps: Aug 25 2004, 20:05
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gabriel
post Aug 26 2004, 08:30
Post #23


LAME developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 2950
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Nanterre, France
Member No.: 138



-V1 is between -V0 and -V2.
I do not know what to say more: it is not -V0 neither -V2, just -V1
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pio2001
post Aug 26 2004, 11:11
Post #24


Moderator


Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3936
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 73



...so -V1 includes the alt-preset code level tunings, but with a bitrate wetween standard and extreme.

I've removed the --r3mix line, since it doesn't mean --r3mix anyway.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Aug 26 2004, 12:26
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 920
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



QUOTE (Jebus @ May 5 2004, 07:16 PM)
So the --r3mix tunings are really gone now (finally!) and all that remains is the name. This is truly significant!

No, there were no r3mix tunings. It was just a shortcut for a long string of command-line options that was advocated by some rolleyes.gif until it was beaten by (alt) preset standard.

sorry to reply to such old message


--------------------
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 15:25