Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: XviD / DivX guide? (Read 15101 times) previous topic - next topic

XviD / DivX guide?

Can anyone recommend good Xvid and DivX settings for
a 1-CD-rip and 2-CD-rip, or at least recommend a site where
I can find such settings?

I have the latest versions of DivX and Xvid and have installed both
GK and AutoGK, but haven't encoded ripped any movies yet, cos I'm
a total newbie as far as video codec settings are concerned.

I just need some good settings, so please don't point me to a site
where I'll have to read through hundreds of pages explaining every
mode...

Thanx in advance!
Wanna buy a monkey?

XviD / DivX guide?

Reply #1
Can anyone recommend good Xvid...

Use defaults
And all advanced features on. 
BTW, if you use XViD GMC, you will not be able to play resulting files on standalones period, becasue no one chip supports 3 warp point GMC now...

XviD / DivX guide?

Reply #2
Can anyone recommend good Xvid...

Try this:  http://www.vslcatena.nl/~ronald/docs/xvidfaq.html

Here's some rule of thumb tips (although they do vary depending on the movie).

H.263 for 1CD
MPEG for 2CD

Use Motion Search 6.

VHQ4 is recommended.

Don't bother with GMC (yet).
QPEL can be useful, but you'll have to experiment with the source.

Always do 2 pass encodes.  Discard the first pass always.

Use Chroma motion.

Cartoon mode is for stuff like the Simpsons, not stuff like Shrek.

Trellis is good, and pretty much safe to always use.

You're still better off limiting the min quants to 2, as quant 1 is pointless (unless you want a bloated file).