Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Still confused about iTunes AAC Ripping (Read 10799 times) previous topic - next topic

Still confused about iTunes AAC Ripping

hi everyone i'm a newbie of this forum, and i've been reading a lot about audio management.
i rip my CDs using iTunes + QuickTime since I have an iPod in hand. My settings are AAC @ 256kbps, but I didn't tick the VBR ripping option.
However, when I play those AAC files with foobar2000, the bitrates flucatuates.

Some people say that iTunes 256kbps doesn't mean 256kbps and actually perfomes like ABR, however I can see from foobar that the tracks I play usually goes from lower than 10kbps to as high as 400kbps. That does not look like ABR, and what's with the 400kps? Is it even possible for AAC to reach this level? or is it simply a foobar bug?

i currently live in China so there is no iTunes Store for my country, but I will be in university soon in Australia and from that time I think I will start buying from iTunes Store. So my other question is: Does iTunes Store AAC files use ACTUAL 256kbps AAC or the kind of thing you get with AAC ripped from your own CD using iTunes 256AAC setting?

Reply #1
This is completely normal.  The iTunes AAC "CBR" setting does perform like ABR.  Note that I said like and not just like.  This means that the bitrate will fluctuate even when a CBR setting is chosen.  Silence is encoded with a really low bitrate and iTunes AAC can go all the way up to 320kbps or higher.  400kbps is possible with AAC, the Nero AAC encoder can even use a high bitrate.